Defensa and Justicia 3-1 Atlético Tucumán: Fernandez double sees D&J home

Photo Credit: AP

Defensa and Justicia defeated Atlético Tucumán 3-1 on Saturday at Estadio Norberto Tomaghello. Defensa and Justicia were looking to continue their good run after winning their previous two matches in the competition. The most recent was against the Colón away (2-1), the other to Unión Santa Fe at home (1-0). Atlético Tucumán had secured a point against Unión Santa Fe in their previous match. Following this match, Defensa and Justicia and Atlético Tucumán are 9th (40 points) and 4th (46 points) in the league respectively, after a total of 27 matches.

Defensa and Justicia started strongly in the first half, when Nicolas Fernandez found the net, 21 minutes in. They then managed to see out the first half 1-0.

Atlético Tucumán took the lead in the second half, when Mateo Coronel found the net, at 71 minutes. However, each side looked hungry to win and Defensa and Justicia then found the back of the net in the 74th minute thanks to Nicolas Fernandez, taking the score to 2-1. Defensa and Justicia then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Fabricio Dominguez, 83 minutes in to give a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Defensa and Justicia included Fabricio Dominguez, Tomas Ezequiel Galvan and Andy Rios for Gabriel Alanis, Manuel Duarte and Nicolas Fernandez, respectively. Atlético Tucumán brought on Francisco Di Franco, Ramiro Ruiz Rodriguez, Ignacio Maestro Puch and Augusto Lotti for Martin Garay, Eugenio Isnaldo, Cristian Menendez and Matias Orihuela.

The referee booked Nicolas Fernandez and Nazareno Colombo from Defensa and Justicia. Atlético Tucumán had the worst of it though, with Manuel Capasso, Francisco Di Franco and Ramiro Ruiz Rodriguez seeing yellow, and Manuel Capasso (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Technical card:
Defensa and Justicia:Ezequiel Unsain, Nicolas Tripichio, Nazareno Colombo, Nicolas Zalazar, Alexis Soto, Gabriel Alanis (Fabricio Dominguez, min.43), Julian Lopez, Manuel Duarte (Tomas Ezequiel Galvan, min.54), Kevin Gutierrez, Gaston Togni and Nicolas Fernandez (Andy Rios, min.85)
Atlético Tucumán:Carlos Lampe, Martin Garay (Francisco Di Franco, min.63), Bruno Bianchi, Manuel Capasso, Matias Orihuela (Augusto Lotti, min.76), Renzo Ivan Tesuri, Guillermo Acosta, Eugenio Isnaldo (Ramiro Ruiz Rodriguez, min.63), Joaquin Pereyra, Cristian Menendez (Ignacio Maestro Puch, min.63) and Mateo Coronel
Stadium:Estadio Norberto Tomaghello
Goals:Nicolas Fernandez (1-0, min. 21), Mateo Coronel (1-1, min. 71), Nicolas Fernandez (2-1, min. 74) and Fabricio Dominguez (3-1, min. 83)