Boca 1 – River 0: Visitors leave Alberto Jose Armando with nothing

Photo Credit: AP

Boca’s 1-0 win over River on Sunday, was hard fought at Alberto Jose Armando. Both sides arrived fresh from some positive results. Boca were looking to continue their good run after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the Colón away (2-1), the other to Atlético Tucumán at home (2-1). River were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-0 win against Barracas C. in their last match. Boca are now in 4th place, with 32 points from 18 matches, while River sit in 7th, with 29 points from 18.

After a goalless first half, Boca piled on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Dario Benedetto gave them the lead on the 65 minute mark, seing the match finish 1-0.

Substitutions for Boca included Norberto Briasco, Cristian Medina, Carlos Zambrano, Luis Vazquez and Aaron Molinas for Luca Daniel Langoni, Juan Ramirez, Martin Payero, Dario Benedetto and Guillermo Fernandez, respectively. River brought on Miguel Angel Borja, Ezequiel Barco, Rodrigo Aliendro, Lucas Beltran and Agustin Palavecino, to replace Pablo Solari, Juan Quintero, Marcelo Herrera, Matias Suárez and Rodrigo Aliendro.

The referee booked twelve players. Frank Fabra, Marcos Rojo, Luis Advincula, Guillermo Fernandez, Juan Ramirez and Luis Vazquez from Boca, who saw yellow cards and Marcos Rojo, sent off with a red, as well as for River Nicolás De La Cruz, Paulo Diaz, Milton Casco, Miguel Angel Borja and Javier Pinola also seeing yellows.

Boca will play away against Lanús, while River will face Banfield at home.

Technical card:
Boca:Agustin Rossi, Luis Advincula, Marcos Rojo, Jorge Figal, Frank Fabra, Alan Varela, Martin Payero (Carlos Zambrano, min.75), Guillermo Fernandez (Aaron Molinas, min.81), Juan Ramirez (Cristian Medina, min.74), Luca Daniel Langoni (Norberto Briasco, min.65) and Dario Benedetto (Luis Vazquez, min.81)
River:Franco Armani, Marcelo Herrera (Rodrigo Aliendro, min.46), Paulo Diaz, Javier Pinola, Emanuel Mammana, Milton Casco, Juan Quintero (Ezequiel Barco, min.46), Enzo Perez, Nicolás De La Cruz, Matias Suárez (Lucas Beltran, min.71) and Pablo Solari (Miguel Angel Borja, min.46)
Stadium:Alberto Jose Armando
Goals:Dario Benedetto (1-0, min. 65)