Atlético Tucumán 3-1 Estudiantes: Leaders Atlético make no mistake at home

Photo Credit: AP

Atlético Tucumán banked all three points against the Estudiantes La Plata in a 3-1 victory on Monday, at Estadio Monumental Jose Fierro. Atlético Tucumán were looking to continue their good run, following a 2-1 victory against Argentinos Juniors. Estudiantes had lost their previous match against Defensa and Justicia. Atlético Tucumán are now in 1st place on the table and have 41 points while Estudiantes sit in 17th with 27 points after 21 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for Atlético Tucumán, when Mateo Coronel found the net, at 29 minutes. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Leandro Diaz equalised for Estudiantes just before half-time, which saw the first half end 1-1.

Atlético Tucumán once more applied the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Augusto Lotti gave them the lead on the 58 minute mark. However they weren’t finished yet and Augusto Lotti made it 3-1 on the 77 minute mark to give a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Atlético Tucumán included Renzo Ivan Tesuri, Nicolas Romero, Augusto Lotti, Agustin Lagos and Andres Balanta for Jonathan Sandoval, Manuel Capasso, Ignacio Maestro Puch, Ramiro Carrera and Francisco Di Franco, respectively. Estudiantes brought on Pablo Piatti, Benjamin Rollheiser, Mateo Pellegrino and Hernan Toledo, to replace Leonardo Heredia, Fernando Zuqui, Leonardo Godoy and Manuel Castro.

There were bookings for Guillermo Acosta, Mateo Coronel and Nicolas Thaller from Atlético Tucumán. For Estudiantes, Pablo Piatti saw yellow.

Atlético Tucumán will next travel to Patronato, while Estudiantes will face Colón at home.

Technical card:
Atlético Tucumán:Tomas Marchiori, Ignacio Maestro Puch (Augusto Lotti, min.57), Manuel Capasso (Nicolas Romero, min.56), Nicolas Thaller, Matias Orihuela, Francisco Di Franco (Andres Balanta, min.82), Guillermo Acosta, Ramiro Carrera (Agustin Lagos, min.82), Joaquin Pereyra, Mateo Coronel and Jonathan Sandoval (Renzo Ivan Tesuri, min.26)
Estudiantes La Plata:Mariano Andujar, Leonardo Godoy (Mateo Pellegrino, min.87), Fabian Noguera, Jorge Morel, Emanuel Mas, Manuel Castro (Hernan Toledo, min.87), Jorge Rodriguez, Fernando Zuqui (Benjamin Rollheiser, min.76), Leonardo Heredia (Pablo Piatti, min.70), Leandro Diaz and Mauro Boselli
Stadium:Estadio Monumental Jose Fierro
Goals:Mateo Coronel (1-0, min. 29), Leandro Diaz (1-1, min. 42), Augusto Lotti (2-1, min. 58) and Augusto Lotti (3-1, min. 77)