Arsenal de Sarandi 2 – Vélez 2: Honours even and points shared at Estadio Julio Humberto Grondona

Photo Credit: AP

Arsenal de Sarandi were helde ach other to a 2-2 draw by Vélez on Sunday at Estadio Julio Humberto Grondona. Both teams arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Arsenal de Sarandi were hoping to get something from this game, following defeat to Godoy Cruz. Vélez had lost their previous match against Newell’s Old Boys. Arsenal de Sarandi are now in 21st place, with 20 points from 18 matches, while Vélez sit in 26th, with 13 points from 18.

Vélez started the match strongly, when Ignacio Gariglio gave them the lead, 31 minutes in. However, their lead was short-lived, as Cristian Chimino equalised for Arsenal de Sarandi just before half-time, finishing the first half 1-1.

Arsenal de Sarandi took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Alexander Diaz, 59 minutes in. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Miguel Brizuela equalised for Vélez just before the final whistle. The match ended wih a 2-2 draw.

Substitutions for Arsenal de Sarandi included Lucas Cano, Joaquin Ibanez and Alejo Antilef for Juan Apaolaza, Facundo Kruspzky and Alexander Diaz, respectively. Vélez brought on Miguel Brizuela, Franco Diaz, Julian Fernandez, Mateo Seoane and Abiel Osorio, to replace Diego Valentin Gomez, Nicolas Garayalde, Walter Bou, Santiago Caseres and Jose Florentin.

There were bookings for Cristian Chimino, Gustavo Canto and Alejandro Medina from Arsenal de Sarandi. For Vélez, Nicolas Garayalde, Francisco Ortega and Lucas Pratto saw yellow.

Arsenal de Sarandi will next play Gimnasia La Plata away, with Vélez facing Central Córdoba at home.

Technical card:
Arsenal de Sarandi:Alejandro Medina, Cristian Chimino, Ignacio Gariglio, Gustavo Canto, Damian Perez, Braian Rivero, Mauro Pitton, Dardo Miloc, Facundo Kruspzky (Joaquin Ibanez, min.85), Alexander Diaz (Alejo Antilef, min.85) and Juan Apaolaza (Lucas Cano, min.58)
Vélez Sarsfield:Leonardo Burian, Leonardo Jara, Matias De los Santos, Diego Valentin Gomez (Miguel Brizuela, min.52), Francisco Ortega, Jose Florentin (Abiel Osorio, min.84), Santiago Caseres (Mateo Seoane, min.84), Nicolas Garayalde (Franco Diaz, min.66), Walter Bou (Julian Fernandez, min.66), Lucas Janson and Lucas Pratto
Stadium:Estadio Julio Humberto Grondona
Goals:Ignacio Gariglio (0-1, min. 31), Cristian Chimino (1-1, min. 41), Alexander Diaz (2-1, min. 59) and Miguel Brizuela (2-2, min. 87)