Arsenal de Sarandi 0-1 Independiente: Visitors extend winning streak to five

Photo Credit: AP

Arsenal de Sarandi fell to a home defeat at the hands of Independiente at Estadio Julio Humberto Grondona on Sunday. Arsenal de Sarandi arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing 2-0 to CA Sarmiento in their last match whilst Independiente were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Newell’s Old Boys and Unión Santa Fe. Arsenal de Sarandi are now in 24th place, with 23 points from 22 matches, while Independiente sit in 13th, with 30 points from 22.

Independiente started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with an early goal from Javier Nicolas Vallejo in the 3rd minute, saw out the first half 1-0. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the match ended 1-0.

Both coaches used all available substitutions. Substitutions for Arsenal de Sarandi included Sebastian Lomonaco, Braian Rivero, Lucas Brochero and Juan Ignacio Peinipil for Alexander Diaz, William Machado, Dardo Miloc and Juan Apaolaza, respectively, Independiente brought on Santiago Agustín Ayala Rodríguez and Rodrigo Marquez, to replace Facundo Ferreyra and Javier Nicolas Vallejo.

There were bookings for Damian Perez, Gonzalo Goni and Braian Rivero from Arsenal de Sarandi, and Javier Nicolas Vallejo, Edgar Elizalde, Joaquin Laso, Damian Batallini and Sergio Barreto, for Independiente.

Arsenal de Sarandi will next travel to Newell’s Old Boys, while Independiente will face Central Córdoba at home.

Technical card:
Arsenal de Sarandi:Alejandro Medina, Cristian Chimino, Gonzalo Goni, Joaquin Pombo Steinberger, Damian Perez, William Machado (Braian Rivero, min.46), Mauro Pitton, Dardo Miloc (Lucas Brochero, min.65), Facundo Kruspzky, Juan Apaolaza (Juan Ignacio Peinipil, min.65) and Alexander Diaz (Sebastian Lomonaco, min.46)
Independiente:Milton Alvarez, Alex Vigo, Sergio Barreto, Joaquin Laso, Edgar Elizalde, Damian Batallini, Lucas Gonzalez, Alan Sonora, Javier Nicolas Vallejo (Rodrigo Marquez, min.86), Leandro Benegas and Facundo Ferreyra (Santiago Agustín Ayala Rodríguez, min.77)
Stadium:Estadio Julio Humberto Grondona
Goals:Javier Nicolas Vallejo (0-1, min. 3)