Arsenal de Sarandi 2-1 Estudiantes: Estudiantes slide to third straight league defeat

Photo Credit: AP

Arsenal de Sarandi beat Estudiantes La Plata with a thumping 2-1 victory on Monday at Estadio Julio Humberto Grondona. Arsenal de Sarandi arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Argentinos Juniors in their previous game. Estudiantes, on the other hand, were beaten 2-0 in the previous match against Newell’s Old Boys. After today’s result, both teams are on 7 points and occupy 15th and 19th places respectively after 6 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for Arsenal de Sarandi, with an early goal from Cristian Colman in the 4th minute. However, their lead was short lived, as Franco Zapiola equalised for Estudiantes just before halftime, which brought Ricardo Zielinski’s squad level at 1-1 at the half time break

Arsenal de Sarandi continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Leonel Picco found the net, at 58 minutes, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Arsenal de Sarandi included Julian Navas, Facundo Kruspzky, Juan Apaolaza and Braian Rivero for Dardo Miloc, Lucas Brochero, Cristian Colman and Leonel Picco, repectively. Estudiantes brought on Benjamin Rollheiser, Jorge Rodriguez, Mauro Boselli, Pablo Piatti and Hernan Toledo, to replace Franco Zapiola, Jorge Morel, Leonardo Heredia, Manuel Castro and Fernando Zuqui.

There were bookings for Leonel Picco, Alejandro Medina and Damian Perez from Arsenal de Sarandi. For Estudiantes, Luciano Lollo and Jorge Morel saw yellow.

Arsenal de Sarandi will next travel to Patronato, while Estudiantes will face Central Córdoba at home.

Technical card:
Arsenal de Sarandi:Alejandro Medina, Cristian Chimino, Gonzalo Goni, Lucas Suarez, Damian Perez, Mauro Pitton, Dardo Miloc (Julian Navas, min.64), Leonel Picco (Braian Rivero, min.82), Lucas Brochero (Facundo Kruspzky, min.74), Cristian Colman (Juan Apaolaza, min.82) and Sebastian Lomonaco
Estudiantes La Plata:Mariano Andujar, Leonardo Godoy, Luciano Lollo, Fabian Noguera, Emanuel Mas, Manuel Castro (Pablo Piatti, min.64), Fernando Zuqui (Hernan Toledo, min.81), Leonardo Heredia (Mauro Boselli, min.64), Jorge Morel (Jorge Rodriguez, min.57), Franco Zapiola (Benjamin Rollheiser, min.56) and Leandro Diaz
Stadium:Estadio Julio Humberto Grondona
Goals:Cristian Colman (1-0, min. 4), Franco Zapiola (1-1, min. 40) and Leonel Picco (2-1, min. 58)