Argentinos 2-0 Vélez: Comfortable clean sheet home win for Argentinos

Photo Credit: AP

Argentinos Juniors defeated Vélez Sarsfield 2-0 on Sunday at Diego Armando Maradona. Argentinos were aiming to improve their league standing after a scoreless draw against Gimnasia La Plata in their previous match whilst Vélez were coming from consecutive wins against Estudiantes La Plata and Talleres Córdoba. Following the final whistle at the end of the last match of the la Superliga Argentina season for both sides, Argentinos and Vélez are 8th (42 points) and 26th (25 points) in the final table respectively, after a total of 27 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for Argentinos, when Kevin Mac Allister found the net just before half-time

Argentinos continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Gaston Veron found the net, 80 minutes in. The final result, Argentinos 2, Vélez 0.

Substitutions for Argentinos included Luciano Sanchez, Javier Cabrera, Jose Maria Herrera, Federico Redondo Solari and Nicolas Reniero for Mariano Bittolo, Thiago Nuss, Gaston Veron, Andres Roa and Gabriel Avalos, respectively. Vélez brought on Maximo Perrone, Walter Bou, Abiel Osorio, Julian Fernandez and Jose Florentin, to replace Mateo Seoane, Lucas Pratto, Luca Orellano, Santiago Castro and Nicolas Garayalde.

There were bookings for Leonel Gonzalez, Thiago Nuss and Federico Redondo Solari from Argentinos. For Vélez, Diego Valentin Gomez saw yellow.

Technical card:
Argentinos Juniors:Federico Lanzillotta, Leonel Gonzalez, Kevin Mac Allister, Miguel Torren, Thiago Nuss (Javier Cabrera, min.61), Franco Moyano, Alan Rodriguez, Mariano Bittolo (Luciano Sanchez, min.27), Gabriel Avalos (Nicolas Reniero, min.83), Andres Roa (Federico Redondo Solari, min.83) and Gaston Veron (Jose Maria Herrera, min.83)
Vélez Sarsfield:Lucas Hoyos, Tomas Guidara, Diego Godin, Diego Valentin Gomez, Francisco Ortega, Luca Orellano (Abiel Osorio, min.71), Lucas Pratto (Walter Bou, min.59), Nicolas Garayalde (Jose Florentin, min.84), Mateo Seoane (Maximo Perrone, min.59), Lucas Janson and Santiago Castro (Julian Fernandez, min.84)
Stadium:Diego Armando Maradona
Goals:Kevin Mac Allister (1-0, min. 45) and Gaston Veron (2-0, min. 80)