Argentinos 1-2 Atlético Tucumán: The Dean secure narrow road win

Photo Credit: AP

Atlético Tucumán beat Argentinos Juniors with a 2-1 victory on Tuesday at Diego Armando Maradona. Argentinos were looking forward to playing again after losing 2-1 to Defensa and Justicia in their last match. Atlético Tucumán, meanwhile, had secured a point against Talleres Córdoba in their previous match. Argentinos and Atlético Tucumán are 8th, (30 points) and 1st, (38 points), spots respectively, after 20 matches.

Atlético Tucumán started the first half well, when Cristian Menendez gave them the lead, 29 minutes in. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a 2nd effort from Cristian Menendez in the 38th minute, to take a 2-0 lead into half time.

Argentinos took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from David Zalazar just before the full time, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Argentinos included Jose Maria Herrera, Javier Cabrera, Nicolas Reniero, Lautaro Nahuel Ovando and David Zalazar for Luciano Sanchez, Mariano Bittolo, Andres Roa, Gaston Veron and Franco Moyano, respectively. Atlético Tucumán replaced Mateo Coronel, Guillermo Acosta, Ramiro Carrera and Joaquin Pereyra for Eugenio Isnaldo, Andres Balanta, Gaston Gil Romero and Francisco Di Franco.

The referee booked Andres Roa, Lucas Villalba and Alan Rodriguez from Argentinos. Atlético Tucumán had the worst of it though, with Cristian Menendez, Ramiro Carrera, Bruno Bianchi, Manuel Capasso and Martin Garay seeing yellow, and Cristian Menendez (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Argentinos will next play Colón away, with Atlético Tucumán facing Estudiantes La Plata at home.

Technical card:
Argentinos Juniors:Federico Lanzillotta, Lucas Villalba, Miguel Torren, Kevin Mac Allister, Mariano Bittolo (Javier Cabrera, min.46), Franco Moyano (David Zalazar, min.79), Alan Rodriguez, Luciano Sanchez (Jose Maria Herrera, min.46), Gabriel Avalos, Andres Roa (Nicolas Reniero, min.46) and Gaston Veron (Lautaro Nahuel Ovando, min.79)
Atlético Tucumán:Carlos Lampe, Martin Garay, Bruno Bianchi, Manuel Capasso, Matias Orihuela, Renzo Ivan Tesuri, Guillermo Acosta (Andres Balanta, min.84), Ramiro Carrera (Gaston Gil Romero, min.84), Joaquin Pereyra (Francisco Di Franco, min.84), Cristian Menendez and Mateo Coronel (Eugenio Isnaldo, min.68)
Stadium:Diego Armando Maradona
Goals:Cristian Menendez (0-1, min. 29), Cristian Menendez (0-2, min. 38) and David Zalazar (1-2, min. 90)