Unión La Calera 2-2 Palestino: Late recovery rescues a point for Union

Photo Credit: AP

Unión La Calera were held to 2-2 draw by Palestino down on Saturday at Municipal Nicolas Chahuan. Both Unión La Calera and Palestino arrived on the back of wins. Unión La Calera were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run, following a 1-0 victory against Everton Viña del Mar while Palestino were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against U. Católica and Coquimbo Unido. After today’s result, Unión La Calera are in 13th place in the table and have 18 points while Palestino sit in 5th with 32 points after 20 matches.

Palestino started strong and were rewarded, when Maximiliano Salas gave Palestino the lead in the 34th minute. However, their lead was short lived, as Sebastian Saez equalised for Unión La Calera, 36 minutes in to see out the first half 1-1.

Palestino fought back the second half, when Felipe Chamorro gave Palestino the lead, 88 minutes in. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Lucas Passerini equalised for Unión La Calera just before the final whistle. The final result, Unión La Calera 2, Palestino 2.

Substitutions for Unión La Calera included Gonzalo Castellani, Sebastian Pereira, Yerco Oyanedel and Mathias Vidangossy for Cesar Perez, Pedro Henrique, Nicolas Orellana and Matias Cavalleri, repectively. Palestino brought on Benjamin Rojas, Felipe Chamorro and Franco Pardo, to replace Bryan Carrasco, Brayan Vejar and Bruno Barticciotto.

There were bookings for Henry Sanhueza, Nicolas Orellana, Pedro Henrique and Simon Ramirez from Unión La Calera, and Jose Bizama, Bryan Carrasco, Bruno Barticciotto and Cristian Suarez, for Palestino.

Unión La Calera will next travel to Huachipato, while Palestino will face Audax Italiano at home.

Technical card:
Unión La Calera:Ignacio Arce, Cristian Vilches, Pedro Henrique (Sebastian Pereira, min.55), Henry Sanhueza, Simon Ramirez, Williams Alarcon, Cesar Perez (Gonzalo Castellani, min.55), Matias Cavalleri (Mathias Vidangossy, min.80), Nicolas Orellana (Yerco Oyanedel, min.71), Sebastian Saez and Lucas Passerini
Palestino:Daniel Sappa, Brayan Vejar (Felipe Chamorro, min.87), Jose Bizama, Cristian Suarez, Vicente Fernandez Godoy, Bryan Carrasco (Benjamin Rojas, min.81), Ariel Martinez, Misael Davila, Jonathan Benitez, Bruno Barticciotto (Franco Pardo, min.89) and Maximiliano Salas
Stadium:Municipal Nicolas Chahuan
Goals:Maximiliano Salas (0-1, min. 34), Sebastian Saez (1-1, min. 36), Felipe Chamorro (1-2, min. 88) and Lucas Passerini (2-2, min. 90)