Palestino 5 – La Serena 0: Bad day for visitors at Municipal de La Cisterna

Photo Credit: AP

Palestino defeated La Serena 5-0 on Sunday at Municipal de La Cisterna. Both teams arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Palestino were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 4-1 to Everton Viña del Mar. La Serena were beaten 2-1 in their previous match against Univ de Chile. Palestino are now in 10th place, with 37 points from 28 matches, while La Serena sit in 14th, with 24 points from 28.

Palestino started strongly in the first half, when Bryan Carrasco opened the rout, at 23 minutes. Palestino looked to have the match under control when they scored again, thanks to a 2nd effort from Bryan Carrasco on the 45 minute mark to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Maximiliano Salas made it 3-0 just before half-time, to take a 3-0 lead into half time.

Palestino continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Bruno Barticciotto found the net, 58 minutes in. Palestino then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a second effort from Bruno Barticciotto just before the final whistle to make it 5-0.

Substitutions for Palestino included Franco Pardo, Felipe Chamorro, Andres Vilches, Mauro Diaz and Nicolas Meza for Vicente Fernandez Godoy, Ariel Martinez, Maximiliano Salas, Bryan Carrasco and Jonathan Benitez, respectively. La Serena brought on Humberto Suazo, Jeison Fuentealba, Jens Buss, Matias Fernandez and Federico Andrada, to replace Bryan Soto, Santiago Dittborn, Ariel Caceres, Cristobal Jorquera and Juan Cavallaro.

There were bookings for Brayan Vejar from Palestino, and Maximiliano Guerrero and Cristobal Jorquera, for La Serena.

Palestino will next travel to Cobresal, while La Serena will face Unión La Calera at home.

Technical card:
Palestino:Daniel Sappa, Brayan Vejar, Jose Bizama, Cristian Suarez, Vicente Fernandez Godoy (Franco Pardo, min.63), Bryan Carrasco (Mauro Diaz, min.77), Ariel Martinez (Felipe Chamorro, min.64), Agustin Farias, Jonathan Benitez (Nicolas Meza, min.77), Bruno Barticciotto and Maximiliano Salas (Andres Vilches, min.77)
La Serena:Gustavo Fuentealba, Ariel Caceres (Jens Buss, min.46), Lucas Alarcon, Enzo Ferrario, Leandro Diaz, Cristobal Jorquera (Matias Fernandez, min.63), Maximiliano Guerrero, Santiago Dittborn (Jeison Fuentealba, min.46), Bryan Soto (Humberto Suazo, min.46), Juan Cavallaro (Federico Andrada, min.63) and Jaime Carreno
Stadium:Municipal de La Cisterna
Goals:Bryan Carrasco (1-0, min. 23), Bryan Carrasco (2-0, min. 45), Maximiliano Salas (3-0, min. 46), Bruno Barticciotto (4-0, min. 58) and Bruno Barticciotto (5-0, min. 90)