Ñublense 2-2 O’Higgins 2: Points shared at Estadio Nelson Oyarzún

Photo Credit: AP

Ñublense were helde ach other to a 2-2 draw by O’Higgins on Sunday at Estadio Nelson Oyarzún. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Ñublense arrived with the intention of improving their league position following a 1-1 draw with Everton Viña del Mar in their previous game whilst O’Higgins had to settle for a draw 2-2 against Unión La Calera. Ñublense are now in 3rd place, with 43 points from 26 matches, while O’Higgins sit in 9th, with 36 points from 26.

It was an impressive opening from Ñublense, when Alexander Aravena gave them the lead in the 19th minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Facundo Barcelo equalised for O’Higgins just before half-time to see out the first half 1-1.

Ñublense took the initiative in the second half, when Nicolas Guerra gave them the lead, 74 minutes in. In the end though, their lead was short-lived, as Esteban Moreira equalised for O’Higgins just before the full time. The match ended wih a 2-2 draw.

Substitutions for Ñublense included Rodrigo Antonio Cisterna Arancibia, Patricio Rubio, Enzo Guerrero, Branco Provoste and Mathias Pinto for Manuel Rivera, Matias Moya, Alexander Aravena, Lorenzo Reyes and Nicolas Guerra, respectively. O’Higgins brought on Diego Fernandez, Facundo Castro, Francisco Arancibia and Esteban Moreira for Juan Fuentes, Camilo Moya, Gaston Lodico and Facundo Barcelo.

The referee booked Rodrigo Antonio Cisterna Arancibia from Ñublense. O’Higgins had the worst of it though, with Diego Gonzalez Torres, Fausto Grillo and Matias Marin seeing yellow, and Diego Gonzalez Torres (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Next up, Ñublense are away to U. Católica, whilst O’Higgins will travel to face Unión Española.

Technical card:
Ñublense:Nicola Perez, Bernardo Cerezo, Rafael Caroca, Nicolas Vargas, Fernando Cordero, Federico Mateos, Manuel Rivera (Rodrigo Antonio Cisterna Arancibia, min.70), Lorenzo Reyes (Branco Provoste, min.88), Matias Moya (Patricio Rubio, min.70), Nicolas Guerra (Mathias Pinto, min.88) and Alexander Aravena (Enzo Guerrero, min.82)
O’Higgins:Alexis Martin, Fabian Hormazabal, Fausto Grillo, Diego Gonzalez Torres, Antonio Diaz, Camilo Moya (Facundo Castro, min.78), Matias Marin, Juan Fuentes (Diego Fernandez, min.72), Matias Donoso, Gaston Lodico (Francisco Arancibia, min.78) and Facundo Barcelo (Esteban Moreira, min.89)
Stadium:Estadio Nelson Oyarzún
Goals:Alexander Aravena (1-0, min. 19), Facundo Barcelo (1-1, min. 42), Nicolas Guerra (2-1, min. 74) and Esteban Moreira (2-2, min. 90)