Ñublense 2-1 Coquimbo: Ñublense hold on to second place with home win

Photo Credit: AP

Coquimbo Unido on away loss to Ñublense at Estadio Nelson Oyarzún on Monday. With each team arriving on the back of a league defeat, they were both keen to pick up points. Ñublense were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 3-0 to La Serena. Coquimbo were beaten 2-1 in the previous match against Antofagasta. As things stand, Ñublense and Coquimbo currently occupy 2nd and 16th spots in the table, with 39 points and 16 points respectively after 21 matches.

Ñublense started the match well, when Rafael Caroca found the net, at 19 minutes, saw the first half 1-0.

Coquimbo took the lead in the second half, when Ignacio Jeraldino found the net in the 61st minute. Ñublense in turn, then responded in the 70th minute increasing their lead with an effort from Alexander Aravena, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Both teams used all available substitutes. Substitutions for Ñublense included Felipe Reynero, Rodrigo Antonio Cisterna Arancibia and Nicolas Mancilla for Nicolas Guerra, Alexander Aravena and Matias Moya, repectively, Coquimbo brought on Felipe Villagran, Dylan Escobar and Cesar Huanca to replace Nicolas Gauna, Ricardo Escobar and Jorge Gatica.

There were bookings for Rafael Caroca, Bernardo Cerezo and Felipe Reynero from Ñublense, and Gerardo Gordillo, Felipe Yanez and Federico Pereyra, for Coquimbo.

Coquimbo and Ñublense will next play at home to Cobresal and Unión Española respectively.

Technical card:
Ñublense:Nicola Perez, Bernardo Cerezo, Rafael Caroca, Nicolas Vargas, Matias Moya (Nicolas Mancilla, min.90), Ivan Rozas, Lorenzo Reyes, Fernando Cordero, Nicolas Guerra (Felipe Reynero, min.67), Patricio Rubio and Alexander Aravena (Rodrigo Antonio Cisterna Arancibia, min.77)
Coquimbo Unido:Guillermo Orellana, Gerardo Gordillo, Ricardo Escobar (Dylan Escobar, min.78), Federico Pereyra, Felipe Yanez, Ruben Farfan, Sebastian Galani, Jorge Gatica (Cesar Huanca, min.79), Joe Abrigo, Ignacio Jeraldino and Nicolas Gauna (Felipe Villagran, min.65)
Stadium:Estadio Nelson Oyarzún
Goals:Rafael Caroca (1-0, min. 19), Ignacio Jeraldino (1-1, min. 61) and Alexander Aravena (2-1, min. 70)