La Serena 3-2 Audax Italiano: Visitors’ fight back just falls short

Photo Credit: AP

La Serena strolled past Audax Italiano with a 3-2 win on Saturday at La Portada. La Serena wanted to continue adding points following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Unión La Calera in their previous game. Audax Italiano, on the other hand, were able to continue their winning streak after a 3-2 win against U. Católica in their last match. After today’s result, La Serena are in 13th place in the table and have 14 points while Audax Italiano sit in 12th with 16 points after 15 matches.

La Serena started the match well, when Humberto Suazo gave La Serena the lead, 19 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Santiago Dittborn made it 2-0, 30 minutes in, finishing the first half 2-0.

Audax Italiano took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Fernando Cornejo, 57 minutes in. The momentum was now with Audax Italiano, who then scored again through a 2nd effort from Fernando Cornejo at the 64 minute mark to establish a 2-2. La Serena in turn, then responded, at 73 minutes increasing their lead with a second effort from Humberto Suazo and saw the match end 3-2.

Substitutions for La Serena included Jaime Carreno, Matias Fernandez, Jens Buss and Marcelo Estigarribia for Lucas Carreno, Cristobal Jorquera, Leonardo Valencia and Humberto Suazo, repectively. Audax Italiano brought on Gonzalo Alvarez, Oliver Rojas, Matias Sepulveda, Jorge Henriquez and Nicolas Aedo, to replace Luis Riveros, Nicolas Fernandez, Raul Osorio, Fernando Cornejo and Tomas Andrade.

The referee booked Leonardo Valencia from La Serena and Matias Fernandez went off with a red card, while Audax Italiano’s Gonzalo Alvarez, Fabian Torres and Jorge Henriquez also received a yellow.

La Serena will next play O’Higgins at home, with Audax Italiano facing Ñublense away.

Technical card:
La Serena:Zacarias Lopez, Ariel Caceres, Enzo Ferrario, Lucas Alarcon, Matias Cortes, Santiago Dittborn, Lucas Carreno (Jaime Carreno, min.62), Cristian Erbes, Humberto Suazo (Marcelo Estigarribia, min.80), Leonardo Valencia (Jens Buss, min.79) and Cristobal Jorquera (Matias Fernandez, min.69)
Audax Italiano:Alvaro Salazar, Raul Osorio (Matias Sepulveda, min.46), Pablo Alvarado, Fabian Torres, Nicolas Fernandez (Oliver Rojas, min.46), Fernando Cornejo (Jorge Henriquez, min.72), Osvaldo Bosso, Roberto Cereceda, Lautaro Palacios, Luis Riveros (Gonzalo Alvarez, min.46) and Tomas Andrade (Nicolas Aedo, min.76)
Stadium:La Portada
Goals:Humberto Suazo (1-0, min. 19), Santiago Dittborn (2-0, min. 30), Fernando Cornejo (2-1, min. 57), Fernando Cornejo (2-2, min. 64) and Humberto Suazo (3-2, min. 73)