Coquimbo 3-1 Cobresal: Pirates ease to victory against slumping Cobresal

Photo Credit: AP

Coquimbo Unido beated Cobresal 3-1 on Saturday at Francisco Sánchez Rumoroso. Coquimbo arrived at the match looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Ñublense. Cobresal, on the other hand, had managed to pick up a single point in their matchup with La Serena. As the table looks today, Coquimbo are currently 16th with 16 points from 22 matches, while Cobresal sit in 6th, with 31 points from 22.

Coquimbo started the first half well, thanks to a goal from Ignacio Jeraldino, 24 minutes in to see out the first half 1-0.

Coquimbo continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Joe Abrigo at the 64 minute mark. Coquimbo looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Fabian Carmona, at 67 minutes to establish a 3-0. In the end though, Cobresal pull-back just before the final whistle, with a goal from Nelson Sepulveda and saw the match end 3-1.

Substitutions for Coquimbo included Cristian Aravena, Nicolas Berardo and Felipe Barrientos for Ignacio Jeraldino, Jorge Gatica and Ruben Farfan, repectively. Cobresal brought on Nelson Sepulveda, Cesar Munder, Oscar Salinas and Ivan Contreras, to replace Francisco Alarcon, Juan Gaete, Gaston Lezcano and Francisco Valdes.

The referee booked Ignacio Jeraldino, Ruben Farfan, Fabian Carmona and Dylan Escobar from Coquimbo. Cobresal had the worst of it though, with Mauro Gonzalez, Alejandro Camargo and Pablo Cardenas seeing yellow, and Mauro Gonzalez (2 yellow cards) and Marcelo Jorquera then sent off with a red.

Coquimbo next face O’Higgins and Cobresal are at home to Huachipato.

Technical card:
Coquimbo Unido:Guillermo Orellana, Dylan Escobar, Gerardo Gordillo, Federico Pereyra, Felipe Yanez, Ruben Farfan (Felipe Barrientos, min.90), Sebastian Galani, Jorge Gatica (Nicolas Berardo, min.89), Fabian Carmona, Ignacio Jeraldino (Cristian Aravena, min.86) and Joe Abrigo
Cobresal:Jorge Deschamps, Sebastian Silva, Ivan Villalba, Francisco Alarcon (Nelson Sepulveda, min.46), Marcelo Jorquera, Mauro Gonzalez, Alejandro Camargo, Pablo Cardenas, Gaston Lezcano (Oscar Salinas, min.72), Francisco Valdes (Ivan Contreras, min.72) and Juan Gaete (Cesar Munder, min.72)
Stadium:Francisco Sánchez Rumoroso
Goals:Ignacio Jeraldino (1-0, min. 24), Joe Abrigo (2-0, min. 64), Fabian Carmona (3-0, min. 67) and Nelson Sepulveda (3-1, min. 90)