Colo Colo 4-0 Unión: 10-man Colo Colo romp to a big home win

Colo Colo vs Unión Española
Photo Credit: AP

Colo Colo enjoyed a home victory against Unión Española at Monumental David Arellano on Friday. Both sides arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Colo Colo were hoping to get something from this game after losing 2-1 to Unión La Calera in their previous fixture. Unión lost 3-2 in their against Audax Italiano. Colo Colo are now in 1st place, with 51 points from 24 matches, while Unión sit in 5th, with 36 points from 24.

Colo Colo started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Juan Lucero opened the rout, 19 minutes in. Colo Colo looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Gabriel Suazo, at 30 minutes to establish a 2-0. Colo Colo then netted again and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Emiliano Amor just before half-time. The first half ended 3-0.

Colo Colo continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Gabriel Costa found the net, at 66 minutes, leaving the final score at 4-0.

Substitutions for Colo Colo included Marcos Bolados, Bruno Gutierrez and Marco Rojas for Agustin Bouzat, Juan Lucero and Gabriel Costa, respectively. Unión brought on Ignacio Jara, Leandro Garate, Gabriel Norambuena and Benjamin Galdames, to replace Sebastian Leyton, Bastian Yanez, Augusto Barrios and Stefano Magnasco.

The referee booked Leonardo Gil from Colo Colo and Leonardo Gil (2 yellow cards) went off with a red card, while Unión’s Augusto Barrios and Jonathan Villagra also received a yellow.

Colo Colo will next play Cobresal away, with Unión facing La Serena at home.

Technical card:
Colo Colo:Brayan Cortes, Oscar Opazo, Maximiliano Falcon, Emiliano Amor, Gabriel Suazo, Agustin Bouzat (Marcos Bolados, min.46), Esteban Pavez, Leonardo Gil, Vicente Pizarro, Gabriel Costa (Marco Rojas, min.83) and Juan Lucero (Bruno Gutierrez, min.75)
Unión Española:Luis Mejia, Stefano Magnasco (Benjamin Galdames, min.86), Jonathan Villagra, Manuel Fernandez, Luis Alberto Pavez, Augusto Barrios (Gabriel Norambuena, min.78), Diego Acevedo, Sebastian Leyton (Ignacio Jara, min.46), Bastian Yanez (Leandro Garate, min.68), Octavio Rivero and Rodrigo Pineiro
Stadium:Monumental David Arellano
Goals:Juan Lucero (1-0, min. 19), Gabriel Suazo (2-0, min. 30), Emiliano Amor (3-0, min. 40) and Gabriel Costa (4-0, min. 66)