Colo Colo 3-0 La Serena: Early flourish seals the home win for Colo Colo

Photo Credit: AP

On Monday, La Serena suffer an away defeat to Colo Colo at Monumental David Arellano. Colo Colo wanted to continue adding points after a 1-1 draw against Everton Viña del Mar while La Serena were coming from consecutive wins against O’Higgins and Audax Italiano. At the moment, Colo Colo and La Serena currently occupy 1st and 13th spots in the league, with 33 points and 17 points respectively after 17 matches.

Colo Colo didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with an early goal from Juan Lucero in the 2nd minute. Colo Colo looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Pablo Solari in the 15th minute to establish a 2-0. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Gabriel Costa in the 24th minute. The score at half time was 3-0. The second half ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

Substitutions for Colo Colo included Alexander Oroz, Cristian Zavala, Marcos Bolados and Lucas Soto for Pablo Solari, Agustin Bouzat, Juan Lucero and Gabriel Costa, repectively. La Serena brought on Victor Ramon, Marcelo Herrera, Federico Andrada and Angelo Quinones, to replace Leandro Diaz, Enzo Ferrario, Cristobal Jorquera and Santiago Dittborn.

There were bookings for Pedro Navarro, Juan Lucero and Dylan Portilla from Colo Colo. For La Serena, Cristobal Jorquera, Cristian Erbes, Jeison Fuentealba, Jaime Carreno, Angelo Quinones and Marcelo Herrera saw yellow.

Colo Colo will next travel to Audax Italiano, while La Serena will face Antofagasta at home.

Technical card:
Colo Colo:Brayan Cortes, Bruno Gutierrez, Matias Zaldivia, Maximiliano Falcon, Pedro Navarro, Gabriel Suazo, Dylan Portilla, Gabriel Costa (Lucas Soto, min.82), Agustin Bouzat (Cristian Zavala, min.69), Juan Lucero (Marcos Bolados, min.82) and Pablo Solari (Alexander Oroz, min.69)
La Serena:Zacarias Lopez, Enzo Ferrario (Marcelo Herrera, min.27), Rodrigo Brito, Lucas Alarcon, Leandro Diaz (Victor Ramon, min.27), Cristian Erbes, Cristobal Jorquera (Federico Andrada, min.46), Jaime Carreno, Santiago Dittborn (Angelo Quinones, min.65), Jeison Fuentealba and Humberto Suazo
Stadium:Monumental David Arellano
Goals:Juan Lucero (1-0, min. 2), Pablo Solari (2-0, min. 15) and Gabriel Costa (3-0, min. 24)