Colo Colo 1-0 Antofagasta: Lucero goal enough to give hosts three points

Photo Credit: AP

Antofagasta on away loss to Colo Colo at Monumental David Arellano on Monday. Both sides arrived on the back of wins. Colo Colo were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two matches against Univ de Chile away and Huachipato at home, by 3-1 and 1-0 respectively. Antofagasta, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-1 victory against Coquimbo Unido. As it stands, Colo Colo are in 1st place in the table and have 42 points while Antofagasta sit in 15th with 18 points after 21 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Colo Colo who started the second half well, with an early goal from Juan Lucero in the 49th minute. They managed to see the match out with a clean sheet and a final score of 1-0.

Substitutions for Colo Colo included Cristian Zavala, Vicente Pizarro and Marcos Bolados for Alexander Oroz, Agustin Bouzat and Gabriel Costa, repectively. Antofagasta brought on Gabriel Torres, Matias Fredes, Byron Nieto and Andres Souper, to replace Ariel Uribe, Maykol Sanchez, Camilo Rodriguez and Jason Flores.

The referee booked Agustin Bouzat, Esteban Pavez and Gabriel Suazo from Colo Colo. Antofagasta had the worst of it though, with Nicolas Penailillo, Andres Robles and Diego Orellana Riffo seeing yellow, and Andres Robles (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Colo Colo will next play Palestino at home, with Antofagasta facing Unión La Calera away.

Technical card:
Colo Colo:Brayan Cortes, Oscar Opazo, Maximiliano Falcon, Matias Zaldivia, Gabriel Suazo, Alexander Oroz (Cristian Zavala, min.46), Leonardo Gil, Esteban Pavez, Gabriel Costa (Marcos Bolados, min.79), Agustin Bouzat (Vicente Pizarro, min.65) and Juan Lucero
Antofagasta:Diego Sanchez, Andres Robles, Nicolas Penailillo, Camilo Rodriguez (Byron Nieto, min.61), Juan Cornejo, Ariel Uribe (Gabriel Torres, min.52), Diego Orellana Riffo, Salvador Cordero, Jason Flores (Andres Souper, min.67), Maykol Sanchez (Matias Fredes, min.61) and Tobias Figueroa
Stadium:Monumental David Arellano
Goals:Juan Lucero (1-0, min. 49)