Cobresal 1-1 La Serena: Points shared in tight contest

Photo Credit: AP

Cobresal were held to 1-1 draw by La Serena down on Saturday at El Cobre, El Salvador. Cobresal were looking to get back their winning ways after losing 1-0 to U. Católica in their previous fixture. La Serena, on the other hand, were coming from a 3-0 win against Ñublense. As the table looks today, Cobresal and La Serena currently occupy 6th and 13th spots in the table, with 31 points and 21 points respectively after 21 matches.

Cobresal started the match well, when Gaston Lezcano gave Cobresal the lead, 35 minutes in to see out the first half 1-0.

La Serena took the lead in the second half, when Leonardo Valencia found the net, at 73 minutes, leaving the final score at 1-1.

Substitutions for Cobresal included Ivan Contreras, Cesar Munder, Cristopher Mesias and Oscar Salinas for Nelson Sepulveda, Juan Gaete, Mauro Gonzalez and Guillermo Pacheco, repectively. La Serena brought on Juan Cavallaro, Martin Ramirez, Leonardo Valencia, Bryan Soto and Jaime Carreno, to replace Federico Andrada, Luckas Carreno, Santiago Dittborn, Cristian Erbes and Humberto Suazo.

There were bookings for Juan Gaete, Francisco Alarcon and Cristopher Mesias from Cobresal. For La Serena, Lucas Alarcon and Rodrigo Brito saw yellow.

Cobresal will next travel to Coquimbo Unido, while La Serena will face Huachipato at home.

Technical card:
Cobresal:Jorge Deschamps, Guillermo Pacheco (Oscar Salinas, min.81), Francisco Alarcon, Ivan Villalba, Marcelo Jorquera, Alejandro Camargo, Mauro Gonzalez (Cristopher Mesias, min.67), Nelson Sepulveda (Ivan Contreras, min.67), Gaston Lezcano, Cecilio Waterman and Juan Gaete (Cesar Munder, min.67)
La Serena:Zacarias Lopez, Lucas Alarcon, Rodrigo Brito, Jens Buss, Ariel Caceres, Cristian Erbes (Bryan Soto, min.67), Santiago Dittborn (Leonardo Valencia, min.60), Luckas Carreno (Martin Ramirez, min.46), Leandro Diaz, Federico Andrada (Juan Cavallaro, min.46) and Humberto Suazo (Jaime Carreno, min.81)
Stadium:El Cobre, El Salvador
Goals:Gaston Lezcano (1-0, min. 35) and Leonardo Valencia (1-1, min. 73)