Antofagasta 2-1 Coquimbo: Fightback from Coquimbo just falls short

Photo Credit: AP

Antofagasta eased past Coquimbo Unido in a 2-1 victory on Saturday at Regional de Antofagasta. Antofagasta were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 3-2 to Audax Italiano whilst Coquimbo had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 2-0 victory against La Serena. As the table looks today, Antofagasta and Coquimbo currently occupy 14th and 16th spots in the league, with 18 points and 16 points respectively after 20 matches.

Antofagasta started strongly in the first half, when Jason Flores gave Antofagasta the lead at the 18 minute mark. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Tobias Figueroa, at 30 minutes. The first half ended 2-0.

Coquimbo took the lead in the second half, when Ignacio Jeraldino found the net at the 76 minute mark. The match ended 2-1 to Antofagasta.

Substitutions for Antofagasta included Adrian Cuadra, Maykol Sanchez, Brayan Hurtado and Eric Ahumada for Gabriel Torres, Ariel Uribe, Jason Flores and Diego Orellana Riffo, repectively. Coquimbo brought on Cesar Huanca, Nicolas Gauna, Felipe Villagran and Nicolas Berardo, to replace Cristian Aravena, Jorge Gatica, Joe Abrigo and Felipe Yanez.

There were bookings for Federico Bravo and Diego Orellana Riffo from Antofagasta, and Cristian Aravena, Sebastian Galani and Victor Gonzalez, for Coquimbo.

Next up, Antofagasta are away to Colo Colo, whilst Coquimbo will travel to face Ñublense.

Technical card:
Antofagasta:Diego Sanchez, Nicolas Penailillo, Juan Cornejo, Federico Bravo, Byron Nieto, Salvador Cordero, Diego Orellana Riffo (Eric Ahumada, min.90), Gabriel Torres (Adrian Cuadra, min.64), Ariel Uribe (Maykol Sanchez, min.68), Tobias Figueroa and Jason Flores (Brayan Hurtado, min.90)
Coquimbo Unido:Rodrigo Formento, Federico Pereyra, Dylan Escobar, Victor Gonzalez, Ruben Farfan, Joe Abrigo (Felipe Villagran, min.65), Sebastian Galani, Jorge Gatica (Nicolas Gauna, min.64), Felipe Yanez (Nicolas Berardo, min.78), Cristian Aravena (Cesar Huanca, min.46) and Ignacio Jeraldino
Stadium:Regional de Antofagasta
Goals:Jason Flores (1-0, min. 18), Tobias Figueroa (2-0, min. 30) and Ignacio Jeraldino (2-1, min. 76)