Toulouse 3-2 Angers: Toulouse edge past spirited visitors

Photo Credit: AP

Tolouse FC eased past Angers SCO in a 3-2 victory on Sunday at Stadium de Toulouse. Tolouse were aiming to improve their league standing following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Lyon in their previous game whilst Angers were beaten 3-2 in their previous match against RC Strasburg. Tolouse are currently 9th with 15 points from 11 matches, while Angers sit in 17th, with 8 points from 11.

Tolouse dominated the first half, when Brecht Dejaegere gave them the lead, at 10 minutes. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Nabil Bentaleb on the 33 minute mark brought Le SCO level. Tolouse in turn, then responded just before half-time, grabbing the lead with an effort from Branco Van den Boomen, finishing the first half 2-1.

Tolouse continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Stijn Spierings found the net, 67 minutes in. Angers in turn, then responded just before the final whistle, grabbing the lead with an effort from Amine Salama, seing the match finish 3-2.

Substitutions for Tolouse included Thijs Dallinga, Moussa Diarra, Oliver Zanden, Veljko Birmancevic and Denis Genreau for Rafael Ratao, Brecht Dejaegere, Anthony Rouault, Fares Chaibi and Zakaria Aboukhlal, respectively. Angers brought on Pierrick Capelle, Sada Thioub, Azzedine Ounahi, Farid El Melali and Amine Salama for Souleyman Doumbia, Yann Valery, Cedric Hountondji, Abdallah Sima and Sofiane Boufal.

There were bookings for Rasmus Nicolaisen, Zakaria Aboukhlal and Fares Chaibi from Tolouse. For Angers, Souleyman Doumbia and Ibrahim Amadou saw yellow.

Angers and Tolouse will next play at home to Rennes and RC Strasburg respectively.

Technical card:
Tolouse FC:Maxime Dupe, Mikkel Desler, Rasmus Nicolaisen, Anthony Rouault (Oliver Zanden, min.83), Issiaga Sylla, Brecht Dejaegere (Moussa Diarra, min.75), Stijn Spierings, Branco Van den Boomen, Rafael Ratao (Thijs Dallinga, min.72), Fares Chaibi (Veljko Birmancevic, min.83) and Zakaria Aboukhlal (Denis Genreau, min.84)
Angers SCO:Yahia Fofana, Yann Valery (Sada Thioub, min.69), Cedric Hountondji (Azzedine Ounahi, min.69), Ibrahim Amadou, Souleyman Doumbia (Pierrick Capelle, min.56), Himad Abdelli, Nabil Bentaleb, Batista Mendy, Sofiane Boufal (Amine Salama, min.81), Abdallah Sima (Farid El Melali, min.81) and Adrien Hunou
Stadium:Stadium de Toulouse
Goals:Brecht Dejaegere (1-0, min. 10), Nabil Bentaleb (1-1, min. 33), Branco Van den Boomen (2-1, min. 40), Stijn Spierings (3-1, min. 67) and Amine Salama (3-2, min. 90)