Strasbourg 2-2 Marseille: Gameiro rescues a point for RCSA

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, RCSA and Marseille played out a 2-2 draw at the Stade de La Meinau. RCSA arrived with the intention of improving their league position following a disappointing 2-2 draw with Tolouse FC in their previous game. Marseille had lost their previous match against RC Lens. RCSA and Marseille currently occupy 16th and 5th spots in the table, with 10 points and 24 points respectively after 13 matches.

Marseille started strongly in the first half, when Bamba Dieng gave them the lead, 8 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Issa Kabore made it 2-0 in the 35th minute, to take a 2-0 lead into half time.

The Racers took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from Lebo Mothiba on the 76 minute mark. RCSA then netted once more and equalised thanks to a goal from Kevin Gameiro just before the final whistle to make it 2-2.

Substitutions for RCSA included Lebo Mothiba, Sanjin Prcic, Ludovic Ajorque, Colin Dagba and Dimitri Lienard for Habib Diallo, Adrien Thomasson, Jean-Eudes Aholou, Ronael Pierre-Gabriel and Thomas Delaine, respectively. Marseille brought on Valentin Rongier, Nuno Tavares, Souleymane Toure, Gerson and Amine Harit for Jordan Veretout, Jonathan Clauss, Sead Kolasinac, Cengiz Under and Bamba Dieng.

The referee booked two players from Marseille, Bamba Dieng and Nuno Tavares.

RCSA will next play AC Ajaccio away, with Marseille facing Lyon at home.

Technical card:
RC Strasburg:Matz Sels, Ronael Pierre-Gabriel (Colin Dagba, min.77), Gerzino Nyamsi, Lucas Perrin, Maxime Le Marchand, Thomas Delaine (Dimitri Lienard, min.79), Jeanricner Bellegarde, Jean-Eudes Aholou (Ludovic Ajorque, min.66), Adrien Thomasson (Sanjin Prcic, min.66), Habib Diallo (Lebo Mothiba, min.46) and Kevin Gameiro
Olympique de Marseille:Pau Lopez, Issa Kabore, Sead Kolasinac (Souleymane Toure, min.66), Leonardo Balerdi, Chancel Mbemba, Jonathan Clauss (Nuno Tavares, min.46), Matteo Guendouzi, Jordan Veretout (Valentin Rongier, min.46), Bamba Dieng (Amine Harit, min.79), Cengiz Under (Gerson, min.72) and Dimitri Payet
Stadium:the Stade de La Meinau
Goals:Bamba Dieng (0-1, min. 8), Issa Kabore (0-2, min. 35), Lebo Mothiba (1-2, min. 76) and Kevin Gameiro (2-2, min. 90)