Marseille 4-1 Reims: Les Phocéens start new Ligue 1 season strongly

Photo Credit: AP

Reims suffer a first loss against Olympique de Marseille in their first match of the new Ligue 1 season. Today’s result, Marseille are in 3rd place in the table and have 3 points while Reims sit in 19th with 0 points after 1 match.

The Phocaeans started strongly in the first half, when Wout Faes opened the rout in the 13th minute. However they weren’t finished yet and Nuno Tavares made it 2-0 just before halftime, which saw the first half end 2-0.

Marseille continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Luis Suarez found the net, 75 minutes in. However, The Red and Whites weren’t lying down and managed to pull back a goal from Folarin Balogun, 84 minutes in. In the end though, Marseille secured the points emphatically, with a second effort from Luis Suarez just before the final whistle and saw the match end 4-1.

Substitutions for Marseille included Jordan Veretout, Luis Suarez, Dimitri Payet, Cedric Bakambu and Sead Kolasinac for Cengiz Under, Arkadiusz Milik, Gerson, Matteo Guendouzi and Jonathan Clauss, repectively. Reims brought on Kamory Doumbia, Folarin Balogun, Alexis Flips and Martin Adeline for Arber Zeneli, El Bilal Toure, Andrew Gravillon and Marshall Munetsi.

The referee booked Samuel Gigot for Marseille.

In the second round of action in the Ligue 1 Marseille will play against Brest away and Reims will play against Clermont Foot at home.

Technical card:
Olympique de Marseille:Ruben Blanco, Chancel Mbemba, Samuel Gigot, Leonardo Balerdi, Jonathan Clauss (Sead Kolasinac, min.83), Matteo Guendouzi (Cedric Bakambu, min.77), Valentin Rongier, Nuno Tavares, Gerson (Dimitri Payet, min.77), Arkadiusz Milik (Luis Suarez, min.62) and Cengiz Under (Jordan Veretout, min.62)
Reims:Patrick Pentz, Wout Faes, Andrew Gravillon (Alexis Flips, min.77), Yunis Abdelhamid, Emmanuel Agbadou, Azor Matusiwa, Marshall Munetsi (Martin Adeline, min.80), Bradley Locko, Arber Zeneli (Kamory Doumbia, min.46), El Bilal Toure (Folarin Balogun, min.64) and Mitchell Van Bergen
Stadium:the Orange Velodrome
Goals:Wout Faes (1-0, min. 13), Nuno Tavares (2-0, min. 45), Luis Suarez (3-0, min. 75), Folarin Balogun (3-1, min. 84) and Luis Suarez (4-1, min. 90)