Marseille 4-0 Strasbourg: The Phocaeans thump Strasbourg to finish second in Ligue 1

Photo Credit: AP

Olympique de Marseille secures a 4-0 win against RC Strasburg at the Orange Velodrome on Saturday. Marseille were hoping to get something from this game, following a previous defeat to Rennes whilst RCSA were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Clermont Foot and Brest. Following the final whistle at the end of the last game of the Ligue 1 season, Marseille are in 2nd place on the table and has 71 points while RCSA sit in 6th with 63 points after 38 matches.

Marseille started the first half well, with Gerson opening the rout, at 32 minutes, ending the first half 1-0.

The Phocaeans continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Cengiz Under at the 73 minute mark. Marseille looked to have the game under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a second effort from Gerson in the 89th minute to establish a 3-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Cedric Bakambu made it 4-0 just before the final whistle with a final score of 4-0.

For Marseille, Luis Henrique, Cedric Bakambu, Pol Lirola and Sead Kolasinac, came on for Amine Harit, Pape Alassane Gueye, Cengiz Under and Arkadiusz Milik. RCSA brought on Habib Diallo, Ibrahima Sissoko, Jeanricner Bellegarde, Karol Fila and Nordin Kandil, to replace Kevin Gameiro, Sanjin Prcic, Jean-Eudes Aholou, Anthony Caci and Adrien Thomasson.

There were bookings for Duje Caleta-Car and Pape Alassane Gueye from Marseille. For RCSA, Ibrahima Sissoko saw yellow.

Technical card:
Olympique de Marseille:Steve Mandanda, Valentin Rongier, Duje Caleta-Car, Boubacar Kamara, Luan Peres, Pape Alassane Gueye (Cedric Bakambu, min.90), Matteo Guendouzi, Gerson, Cengiz Under (Pol Lirola, min.90), Arkadiusz Milik (Sead Kolasinac, min.90) and Amine Harit (Luis Henrique, min.90)
RC Strasburg:Matz Sels, Frederic Guilbert, Alexander Djiku, Gerzino Nyamsi, Lucas Perrin, Anthony Caci (Karol Fila, min.84), Adrien Thomasson (Nordin Kandil, min.85), Jean-Eudes Aholou (Jeanricner Bellegarde, min.73), Sanjin Prcic (Ibrahima Sissoko, min.73), Ludovic Ajorque and Kevin Gameiro (Habib Diallo, min.72)
Stadium:the Orange Velodrome
Goals:Gerson (1-0, min. 32), Cengiz Under (2-0, min. 73), Gerson (3-0, min. 89) and Cedric Bakambu (4-0, min. 90)