Montpellier 1 – Lyon 2: The Kids travel to the Stade de la Mosson and seal win

Photo Credit: AP

Montpellier on home loss to Lyon at the Stade de la Mosson on Saturday. Both teams arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Montpellier were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 1-0 to RC Lens. Lyon had lost their previous match against Rennes. Montpellier are now in 11th place on the table and have 12 points while Lyon sit in 8th with 17 points after 12 matches.

The Kids started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Houssem Aouar found the net, at 33 minutes, saw the first half 1-0.

La Paillade took the lead in the second half, when Sepe Elye Wahi found the net, at 70 minutes. Lyon in turn, then responded just before the full time, grabbing the lead with an effort from Alexandre Lacazette. The match ended with a 2-1 victory for the visitors.

Substitutions for Montpellier included Bingourou Kamara, Arnaud Souquet, Arnaud Nordin, Joris Chotard and Valere Germain for Jonas Omlin, Enzo Tchato, Faitout Maouassa, Jordan Ferri and Sepe Elye Wahi, respectively. Lyon brought on Damien Da Silva, Karl Toko Ekambi and Jeff Reine-Adelaide, to replace Jerome Boateng, Moussa Dembele and Houssem Aouar.

The referee booked from Montpellier Teji Savanier and Sepe Elye Wahi and from Lyon Houssem Aouar and Thiago Mendes. Both teams also had a sending off, with Stephy Mavididi for Montpellier and Sinaly Diomande for Lyon.

Montpellier will play away against Rennes, while Lyon will face Lille at home.

Technical card:
Montpellier:Jonas Omlin (Bingourou Kamara, min.43), Enzo Tchato (Arnaud Souquet, min.55), Maxime Esteve, Christopher Jullien, Nicolas Cozza, Khalil Fayad, Jordan Ferri (Joris Chotard, min.82), Teji Savanier, Faitout Maouassa (Arnaud Nordin, min.55), Sepe Elye Wahi (Valere Germain, min.82) and Stephy Mavididi
Lyon:Anthony Lopes, Malo Gusto, Jerome Boateng (Damien Da Silva, min.59), Castello Lukeba, Sinaly Diomande, Nicolas Tagliafico, Maxence Caqueret, Thiago Mendes, Houssem Aouar (Jeff Reine-Adelaide, min.64), Alexandre Lacazette and Moussa Dembele (Karl Toko Ekambi, min.64)
Stadium:the Stade de la Mosson
Goals:Houssem Aouar (0-1, min. 33), Sepe Elye Wahi (1-1, min. 70) and Alexandre Lacazette (1-2, min. 90)