Montpellier 1-2 Auxerre: La Paillade come up short at home aginast Auxerre

Photo Credit: AP

Montpellier on Sunday lost to Auxerre on a home defeat at the Stade de la Mosson. Montpellier were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 5-2 to Paris Saint-Germain. Auxerre, on the other hand, secured a point against Angers SCO in their previous match. As things stand, Montpellier are in 12th place in the table and have 3 points while Auxerre sit in 10th with 4 points after 3 matches.

Montpellier started the first half well, when Mamadou Sakho found the net in the 39th minute. The score at half time was 1-0.

Auxerre continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Nuno Da Costa found the net, 70 minutes in. Auxerre then netted once more and turned the match thanks to a goal from Mathias Autret, 75 minutes in with a final score of 2-1.

Substitutions for Montpellier included Faitout Maouassa, Enzo Tchato, Beni Makouana, Maxime Esteve and Valere Germain for Sepe Elye Wahi, Falaye Sacko, Mamadou Sakho, Arnaud Nordin and Wahbi Khazri, repectively. Auxerre brought on Alexandre Coeff, Mbaye Niang, Youssouf M’Changama, Remy Dugimont and Rayan Raveloson for Julian Jeanvier, Gauthier Hein, Hamza Sakhi, Gaetan Perrin and Mathias Autret.

Montpellier and Auxerre played a rough game where the referee sanctioned Montpellier with yellow cards to Mamadou Sakho and with red card to Khalil Fayad and Teji Savanier, while from Auxerre Nuno Da Costa and Paul Joly were booked and red to Nuno Da Costa (2 yellow cards) and Mbaye Niang.

Montpellier will next travel to Brest, while Auxerre will face RC Strasburg at home.

Technical card:
Montpellier:Jonas Omlin, Falaye Sacko (Enzo Tchato, min.76), Nicolas Cozza, Mamadou Sakho (Beni Makouana, min.83), Theo Sainte-Luce, Arnaud Nordin (Maxime Esteve, min.84), Teji Savanier, Jordan Ferri, Khalil Fayad, Sepe Elye Wahi (Faitout Maouassa, min.63) and Wahbi Khazri (Valere Germain, min.84)
Auxerre:Benoit Costil, Paul Joly, Julian Jeanvier (Alexandre Coeff, min.45), Jubal, Kenji-Van Boto, Gaetan Perrin (Remy Dugimont, min.65), Hamza Sakhi (Youssouf M’Changama, min.65), Gauthier Hein (Mbaye Niang, min.46), Birama Toure, Mathias Autret (Rayan Raveloson, min.82) and Nuno Da Costa
Stadium:the Stade de la Mosson
Goals:Mamadou Sakho (1-0, min. 39), Nuno Da Costa (1-1, min. 70) and Mathias Autret (1-2, min. 75)