Lille 4-1 Auxerre: Les Dogues fire four past Auxerre in season opener

Photo Credit: AP

Auxerre lost their first match in the new Ligue 1 season against Lille. Today’s result, Lille are in 2nd place in the table and have 3 points while Auxerre sit in 19th with 0 points after 1 match.

Lille didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, with an early goal from Benjamin Andre in the 1st minute. The momentum was now with Les Dogues, who then scored again through a goal from Jonathan David in the 3rd minute to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Jonathan David made it 3-0 at the 39 minute mark, which saw the first half end 3-0.

Lille continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Akim Zedadka found the net, 64 minutes in. In the end though, Auxerre secured the points emphatically, with a goal from Gaetan Charbonnier in the 68th minute so at full time it was 4-1 to Lille.

Lille brought on Bafode Diakite, Yusuf Yazici, Carlos Baleba and Edon Zhegrova for Tiago Djalo, Mohamed Bayo, Angel Gomes and Jonathan Bamba. Auxerre brought on Lassine Sinayoko and Gaetan Perrin, to replace Youssouf M’Changama and Mathias Autret.

There were bookings for Angel Gomes and Tiago Djalo from Lille. For Auxerre, Julian Jeanvier saw yellow.

In the second round of action in the Ligue 1 Lille will play against Nantes away and Auxerre will play against Angers SCO at home.

Technical card:
Lille:Leo Jardim, Akim Zedadka, Jose Fonte, Alexsandro Ribeiro, Tiago Djalo (Bafode Diakite, min.75), Benjamin Andre, Remy Cabella, Angel Gomes (Carlos Baleba, min.85), Jonathan David, Mohamed Bayo (Yusuf Yazici, min.85) and Jonathan Bamba (Edon Zhegrova, min.89)
Auxerre:Benoit Costil, Brayann Pereira, Julian Jeanvier, Jubal, Quentin Bernard, Gauthier Hein, Youssouf M’Changama (Lassine Sinayoko, min.76), Hamza Sakhi, Birama Toure, Mathias Autret (Gaetan Perrin, min.76) and Gaetan Charbonnier
Stadium:the Stade Pierre Mauroy
Goals:Benjamin Andre (1-0, min. 1), Jonathan David (2-0, min. 3), Jonathan David (3-0, min. 39), Akim Zedadka (4-0, min. 64) and Gaetan Charbonnier (4-1, min. 68)