Lorient 3-2 Nantes: The Merlucciidaes secure the points in a five-goal thriller

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Nantes suffered an away defeat to FC Lorient at the Stade Yves Allainmat. Lorient were looking to pick up points, following a 1-0 victory against AC Ajaccio, while Nantes had lost their previous match against Paris Saint-Germain. Lorient are now in 4th place, with 16 points from 7 matches, while Nantes sit in 15th, with 6 points from 7.

The Yellow House scored first, when Ignatius Kpene Ganago found the net in the 13th minute. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Dango Ouattara equalised for Lorient in the 19th minute to see out the first half 1-1.

Lorient continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Yoann Cathline found the net in the 60th minute. The Merlucciidaes looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Ibrahima Kone in the 74th minute to establish a 3-1. Nantes in turn, then responded just before the full time, grabbing the lead with an effort from Moses Simon. The match ended 3-2 to Lorient.

Substitutions for Lorient included Julien Ponceau, Yoann Cathline, Adil Aouchiche and Ibrahima Kone for Bonke Innocent, Stephane Diarra, Laurent Abergel and Terem Moffi, respectively. Nantes brought on Mostafa Mohamed, Ludovic Blas, Sebastien Corchia, Abdoul Kader Bamba and Lohann Doucet, to replace Pedro Chirivella, Dennis Appiah, Evann Guessand, Andrei and Moussa Sissoko.

There were bookings for Julien Laporte and Ibrahima Kone from Lorient, and Moses Simon, Pedro Chirivella and Dennis Appiah, for Nantes.

Lorient will next travel to Auxerre, while Nantes will face RC Lens at home.

Technical card:
FC Lorient:Yvon Mvogo, Gedeon Kalulu, Montassar Talbi, Julien Laporte, Vincent Le Goff, Stephane Diarra (Yoann Cathline, min.57), Enzo Le Fee, Laurent Abergel (Adil Aouchiche, min.72), Bonke Innocent (Julien Ponceau, min.57), Dango Ouattara and Terem Moffi (Ibrahima Kone, min.72)
Nantes:Alban Lafont, Nicolas Pallois, Jean-Charles Castelletto, Andrei (Abdoul Kader Bamba, min.89), Dennis Appiah (Ludovic Blas, min.62), Pedro Chirivella (Mostafa Mohamed, min.61), Moussa Sissoko (Lohann Doucet, min.90), Quentin Merlin, Evann Guessand (Sebastien Corchia, min.63), Moses Simon and Ignatius Kpene Ganago
Stadium:the Stade Yves Allainmat
Goals:Ignatius Kpene Ganago (0-1, min. 13), Dango Ouattara (1-1, min. 19), Yoann Cathline (2-1, min. 60), Ibrahima Kone (3-1, min. 74) and Moses Simon (3-2, min. 85)