Lorient 3-1 Lyon: The Merlucciidaes jubilant after home win against The Kids

Photo Credit: AP

FC Lorient eased past Lyon in a 3-1 victory on Wednesday at the Stade Yves Allainmat. Both sides arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Lorient were looking to pick up points after winning last match while Lyon were coming back-to-back wins against Angers SCO and Auxerre. both teams are now on 13 points and sit in 5th and 4th places respectively after 2 matches.

Lorient started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Enzo Le Fee gave them the lead early in the first half. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Alexandre Lacazette on the 28 minute mark, brought The Kids level. However, The Merlucciidaes found the back of the net following a Terem Moffi goal in the 33rd minute, to take a 2-1 lead into half time.

Lorient started the second half with an intensified spirit, with an early goal from Dango Ouattara in the 49th minute. When the final whistle blew, the result was 3-1 to Lorient.

Substitutions for Lorient included Theo Le Bris and Ibrahima Kone for Stephane Diarra and Terem Moffi, respectively. Lyon brought on Damien Da Silva, Moussa Dembele, Corentin Tolisso, Rayan Cherki and Bradley Barcola, to replace Thiago Mendes, Romain Faivre, Johann Lepenant, Karl Toko Ekambi and Tete.

There were bookings for Stephane Diarra from Lorient, and Thiago Mendes, Damien Da Silva and Moussa Dembele, for Lyon.

Lorient will play their next fixture at home against Nantes, while Lyon will face AS Mónaco away.

Technical card:
FC Lorient:Yvon Mvogo, Gedeon Kalulu, Montassar Talbi, Julien Laporte, Vincent Le Goff, Dango Ouattara, Bonke Innocent, Laurent Abergel, Stephane Diarra (Theo Le Bris, min.66), Enzo Le Fee and Terem Moffi (Ibrahima Kone, min.90)
Lyon:Anthony Lopes, Malo Gusto, Thiago Mendes (Damien Da Silva, min.46), Castello Lukeba, Nicolas Tagliafico, Maxence Caqueret, Romain Faivre (Moussa Dembele, min.46), Johann Lepenant (Corentin Tolisso, min.46), Karl Toko Ekambi (Rayan Cherki, min.75), Alexandre Lacazette and Tete (Bradley Barcola, min.75)
Stadium:the Stade Yves Allainmat
Goals:Enzo Le Fee (1-0, min. 6), Alexandre Lacazette (1-1, min. 28), Terem Moffi (2-1, min. 33) and Dango Ouattara (3-1, min. 49)