Lorient 2-1 Lille: The Merlucciidaes triumph at home against Les Dogues

Photo Credit: AP

Lorient enjoyed a home victory against Lille at the Stade Yves Allainmat on Sunday. Both Lorient and Lille arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Lorient were looking to continue their good run after winning their previous two games against Auxerre away and Nantes at home, by 3-1 and 3-2 respectively. Lille, meanwhile, were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-1 victory against Tolouse FC. Lorient are now in 3rd place, with 22 points from 9 matches, while Lille sit in 8th, with 13 points from 9.

Lorient started strongly in the first half, when Bafode Diakite gave them the lead on the 9 minute mark. The score at half time remained 1-0.

Les Dogues took the initiative in the second half, when Jonathan David found the net, at 78 minutes. The Merlucciidaes in turn, then responded just before the final whistle, grabbing the lead with an effort from Theo Le Bris, leaving the final score at 2-1.

Substitutions for Lorient included Theo Le Bris, Bonke Innocent, Ibrahima Kone and Chrislain Matsima for Stephane Diarra, Julien Ponceau, Terem Moffi and Enzo Le Fee, respectively. Lille brought on Remy Cabella, Akim Zedadka, Andre Gomes and Mohamed Bayo, to replace Jonas Martin, Bafode Diakite, Angel Gomes and Benjamin Andre.

The referee booked six players. Dango Ouattara and Laurent Abergel from Lorient, who saw yellow cards and Dango Ouattara (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Lille Angel Gomes, Jonas Martin and Bafode Diakite received yellows.

Lorient will play their next fixture away against Brest, while Lille will face RC Lens at home.

Technical card:
FC Lorient:Yvon Mvogo, Gedeon Kalulu, Julien Laporte, Montassar Talbi, Vincent Le Goff, Stephane Diarra (Theo Le Bris, min.69), Laurent Abergel, Enzo Le Fee (Chrislain Matsima, min.90), Julien Ponceau (Bonke Innocent, min.69), Dango Ouattara and Terem Moffi (Ibrahima Kone, min.86)
Lille:Lucas Chevalier, Bafode Diakite (Akim Zedadka, min.70), Jose Fonte, Tiago Djalo, Jonas Martin (Remy Cabella, min.46), Angel Gomes (Andre Gomes, min.70), Benjamin Andre (Mohamed Bayo, min.86), Ismaily, Adam Ounas, Jonathan David and Jonathan Bamba
Stadium:the Stade Yves Allainmat
Goals:Bafode Diakite (1-0, min. 9), Jonathan David (1-1, min. 78) and Theo Le Bris (2-1, min. 87)