Auxerre 1 – Lorient 3: The Merlucciidaes, ecstatic seal precious away win

Photo Credit: AP

FC Lorient beated Auxerre 3-1 on Friday at Stade de l’Abbe-Deschamps. Auxerre were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 5-0 to Rennes in their previous fixture. Lorient were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Nantes and Lyon. Auxerre are now in 14th place on the table and have 7 points while Lorient sit in 3rd with 19 points after 8 matches.

The Merlucciidaes dominated the first half, when Dango Ouattara gave them the lead, 15 minutes in. Lorient looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Terem Moffi, 36 minutes in to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Enzo Le Fee made it 3-0 just before half-time, finishing the first half 3-0.

Auxerre fought back, with an early goal from Gauthier Hein in the 50th minute, leaving the final score at 3-1.

Substitutions for Auxerre included Nuno Da Costa, Lassine Sinayoko, Remy Dugimont, Youssouf M’Changama and Rayan Raveloson for Gaetan Perrin, Gauthier Hein, Mbaye Niang, Mathias Autret and Hamza Sakhi, respectively. Lorient brought on Bonke Innocent, Ibrahima Kone and Theo Le Bris, to replace Julien Ponceau, Terem Moffi and Stephane Diarra.

There were bookings for Gideon Mensah, Birama Toure and Remy Dugimont from Auxerre. For Lorient, Gedeon Kalulu saw yellow.

Lorient and Auxerre will next play at home to Lille and Brest respectively.

Technical card:
Auxerre:Benoit Costil, Paul Joly, Alexandre Coeff, Jubal, Gideon Mensah, Gaetan Perrin (Nuno Da Costa, min.61), Hamza Sakhi (Rayan Raveloson, min.86), Birama Toure, Gauthier Hein (Lassine Sinayoko, min.61), Mathias Autret (Youssouf M’Changama, min.86) and Mbaye Niang (Remy Dugimont, min.79)
FC Lorient:Yvon Mvogo, Gedeon Kalulu, Montassar Talbi, Julien Laporte, Vincent Le Goff, Stephane Diarra (Theo Le Bris, min.75), Laurent Abergel, Enzo Le Fee, Julien Ponceau (Bonke Innocent, min.72), Dango Ouattara and Terem Moffi (Ibrahima Kone, min.72)
Stadium:Stade de l’Abbe-Deschamps
Goals:Dango Ouattara (0-1, min. 15), Terem Moffi (0-2, min. 36), Enzo Le Fee (0-3, min. 42) and Gauthier Hein (1-3, min. 50)