Auxerre 1-1 Brest: Stalemate at Stade de l’Abbe-Deschamps

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Auxerre and Brest played out a 1-1 draw at Stade de l’Abbe-Deschamps. Both Auxerre and Brest arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Auxerre were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 3-1 to FC Lorient whilst Brest were beaten 1-0 in their previous match against AC Ajaccio. Auxerre and Brest currently occupy 14th and 18th spots in the league, with 8 points and 6 points respectively after 9 matches.

After a goalless first half, The Pirates took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from Islam Slimani, 64 minutes in. In the end though, their lead was short-lived, as Mbaye Niang equalised for Auxerre just before the final whistle, seing the match finish 1-1.

Both managers used all available substitutions. Substitutions for Auxerre included Denys Bain, Gaetan Perrin, Rayan Raveloson and Remy Dugimont for Youssouf M’Changama, Nuno Da Costa, Hamza Sakhi and Mbaye Niang, respectively, Brest brought on Irvin Cardona and Romain Del Castillo to replace Jeremy Le Douaron and Mathias Pereira Lage.

The referee booked eight players. Hamza Sakhi, Julian Jeanvier and Mbaye Niang from Auxerre, who saw yellow cards and Julian Jeanvier (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Brest Islam Slimani, Brendan Chardonnet, Romain Del Castillo and Marco Bizot also seeing yellows.

Auxerre will next travel to Clermont Foot, while Brest will face FC Lorient at home.

Technical card:
Auxerre:Benoit Costil, Paul Joly, Julian Jeanvier, Jubal, Quentin Bernard, Lassine Sinayoko, Youssouf M’Changama (Denys Bain, min.55), Hamza Sakhi (Rayan Raveloson, min.87), Birama Toure, Mbaye Niang (Remy Dugimont, min.90) and Nuno Da Costa (Gaetan Perrin, min.65)
Brest:Marco Bizot, Jean-Kevin Duverne, Christophe Herelle, Brendan Chardonnet, Lilian Brassier, Mathias Pereira Lage (Romain Del Castillo, min.78), Haris Belkebla, Pierre Lees-Melou, Franck Honorat, Jeremy Le Douaron (Irvin Cardona, min.73) and Islam Slimani
Stadium:Stade de l’Abbe-Deschamps
Goals:Islam Slimani (0-1, min. 64) and Mbaye Niang (1-1, min. 86)