Auxerre 2-2 Angers: Points shared at Stade de l’Abbe-Deschamps

Photo Credit: AP

Auxerre were held to 2-2 draw by Angers down on Sunday at Stade de l’Abbe-Deschamps. Auxerre were looking to get back their winning ways, following a previous defeat to Lille. Angers, on the other hand, had managed to pick up a single point in their matchup with Nantes. As the table looks today, Auxerre and Angers are 16th, (1 point) and 11th, (2 points), spots respectively, after 2 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Auxerre, with an early goal from Julian Jeanvier in the 4th minute. Auxerre looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Cedric Hountondji in the 10th minute to establish a 2-0. However, Angers at the 22 minute mark hit back though via a Lois Diony goal, which saw the first half end 2-1.

Le SCO took the lead in the second half, when Amine Salama found the net, at 77 minutes, leaving the final score at 2-2.

Substitutions for Auxerre included Nuno Da Costa, Youssouf M’Changama and Gaetan Perrin for Gaetan Charbonnier, Gauthier Hein and Mathias Autret, repectively. Angers brought on Pierrick Capelle, Amine Salama, Sofiane Boufal, Ilyes Chetti and Antonin Bobichon, to replace Batista Mendy, Sada Thioub, Adrien Hunou, Souleyman Doumbia and Azzedine Ounahi.

The referee booked Gaetan Charbonnier, Lassine Sinayoko, Paul Joly and Nuno Da Costa from Auxerre and Lassine Sinayoko (2 yellow cards) went off with a red card, while Angers’ Batista Mendy, Azzedine Ounahi and Halid Sabanovic also received a yellow.

Auxerre will next travel to Montpellier, while Angers will face Brest at home.

Technical card:
Auxerre:Benoit Costil, Paul Joly, Julian Jeanvier, Jubal, Quentin Bernard, Gauthier Hein (Youssouf M’Changama, min.73), Birama Toure, Hamza Sakhi, Mathias Autret (Gaetan Perrin, min.85), Lassine Sinayoko and Gaetan Charbonnier (Nuno Da Costa, min.46)
Angers SCO:Paul Bernardoni, Halid Sabanovic, Miha Blazic, Cedric Hountondji, Souleyman Doumbia (Ilyes Chetti, min.78), Sada Thioub (Amine Salama, min.70), Azzedine Ounahi (Antonin Bobichon, min.83), Nabil Bentaleb, Batista Mendy (Pierrick Capelle, min.69), Adrien Hunou (Sofiane Boufal, min.70) and Lois Diony
Stadium:Stade de l’Abbe-Deschamps
Goals:Julian Jeanvier (1-0, min. 4), Cedric Hountondji (2-0, min. 10), Lois Diony (2-1, min. 22) and Amine Salama (2-2, min. 77)