Angers 2-3 RCSA: Strasbourg edge five-goal thriller

Photo Credit: AP

RC Strasburg strolled past Angers SCO with a 3-2 win on Sunday at the Stade Raymond Kopa. Both teams came from defeats in their previous league games. Angers arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing 3-0 to Olympique de Marseille in their last match whilst RCSA had lost their previous match against Rennes. both teams are now on 8 points and occupy 17th and 14th places respectively after 10 matches.

RCSA found the net first, when Kevin Gameiro gave them the lead after only 7 minutes. However, their lead didn’t last for long, Adrien Hunou producing an equaliser in the 11th minute, bringing Angers level. However, The Racers found the back of the net following a Miha Blazic goal in the 33rd minute and saw the first half out 2-1.

RCSA continued to apply pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Habib Diallo, 58 minutes in. In the end though, Le SCO hit back though via a Miha Blazic goal just before the final whistle, leaving the final score at 3-2.

Substitutions for Angers included Amine Salama, Himad Abdelli, Ibrahim Amadou, Sada Thioub and Abdoulaye Bamba for Abdallah Sima, Azzedine Ounahi, Batista Mendy, Adrien Hunou and Yann Valery, respectively. RCSA replaced Adrien Thomasson, Ronael Pierre-Gabriel, Diarra Mouhamadou and Dimitri Lienard with Kevin Gameiro, Colin Dagba, Ibrahima Sissoko and Thomas Delaine.

There were bookings for Batista Mendy from Angers, and Ronael Pierre-Gabriel, for RCSA.

Angers will play away against Tolouse FC, while RCSA will face Lille at home.

Technical card:
Angers SCO:Yahia Fofana, Yann Valery (Abdoulaye Bamba, min.86), Cedric Hountondji, Miha Blazic, Souleyman Doumbia, Azzedine Ounahi (Himad Abdelli, min.66), Batista Mendy (Ibrahim Amadou, min.66), Nabil Bentaleb, Sofiane Boufal, Adrien Hunou (Sada Thioub, min.86) and Abdallah Sima (Amine Salama, min.66)
RC Strasburg:Matz Sels, Maxime Le Marchand, Alexander Djiku, Lucas Perrin, Colin Dagba (Ronael Pierre-Gabriel, min.76), Ibrahima Sissoko (Diarra Mouhamadou, min.77), Jeanricner Bellegarde, Sanjin Prcic, Thomas Delaine (Dimitri Lienard, min.81), Kevin Gameiro (Adrien Thomasson, min.46) and Habib Diallo
Stadium:the Stade Raymond Kopa
Goals:Kevin Gameiro (0-1, min. 7), Adrien Hunou (1-1, min. 11), Miha Blazic (1-2, min. 33), Habib Diallo (1-3, min. 58) and Miha Blazic (2-3, min. 87)