Torino 1-1 Empoli: Host fightback late for a share of the spoils

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Torino and Empoli played out a 1-1 draw at the Stadio Olimpico di Torino. Both sides came from defeats in their previous league games. Torino were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 3-1 to Napoli. Empoli had lost their previous match against AC Milan. Torino and Empoli currently occupy 10th and 13th spots in the league, with 11 points and 8 points respectively after 9 matches.

After an uneventful first half, whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Empoli who started the second half strongly, with an early goal from Mattia Destro in the 49th minute. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Sasa Lukic equalised for Torino just before the final whistle, to level the score at 1-1.

Substitutions for Torino included Pietro Pellegri, Samuele Ricci, Nemanja Radonjic, Mergim Vojvoda and Yann Karamoh for Antonio Sanabria, Karol Linetty, Aleksey Miranchuk, Ola Aina and Koffi Djidji, respectively. Empoli brought on Marko Pjaca, Mattia Destro, Liam Henderson, Petar Stojanovic and Sebastian Walukiewicz, to replace Sam Lammers, Nicolo Cambiaghi, Filippo Bandinelli, Nedim Bajrami and Tyronne Ebuehi.

There were bookings for Pietro Pellegri and Antonio Sanabria from Torino. For Empoli, Filippo Bandinelli, Fabiano Parisi and Razvan Marin saw yellow.

Empoli and Torino will next play at home to AC Monza and Juventus respectively.

Technical card:
Torino:Vanja Milinkovic-Savic, Perr Schuurs, Ricardo Rodriguez, Koffi Djidji (Yann Karamoh, min.88), Ola Aina (Mergim Vojvoda, min.74), Sasa Lukic, Karol Linetty (Samuele Ricci, min.67), Valentino Lazaro, Nikola Vlasic, Antonio Sanabria (Pietro Pellegri, min.67) and Aleksey Miranchuk (Nemanja Radonjic, min.74)
Empoli:Guglielmo Vicario, Tyronne Ebuehi (Sebastian Walukiewicz, min.78), Sebastiano Luperto, Koni De Winter, Fabiano Parisi, Nicolas Haas, Nedim Bajrami (Petar Stojanovic, min.78), Filippo Bandinelli (Liam Henderson, min.69), Razvan Marin, Sam Lammers (Marko Pjaca, min.46) and Nicolo Cambiaghi (Mattia Destro, min.46)
Stadium:the Stadio Olimpico di Torino
Goals:Mattia Destro (0-1, min. 49) and Sasa Lukic (1-1, min. 90)