Torino 2-1 Milan: Milan upset at the Stadio Olimpico di Torino

Photo Credit: AP

Torino defeated AC Milan 2-1 on Sunday at the Stadio Olimpico di Torino. Both teams arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Torino were looking to pick up points after winning last match while Milan were coming from consecutive wins against AC Monza and Hellas Verona. Torino are now in 9th place on the table and have 17 points while Milan sit in 3rd with 26 points after 12 matches.

The Bull started the first half well, when Koffi Djidji gave them the lead on the 35 minute mark. However they weren’t finished yet and Aleksey Miranchuk made it 2-0, 37 minutes in, concluding the first half 2-0.

Rossoneri took the lead in the second half, thanks to a goal from Junior Messias, at 67 minutes, seing the match finish 2-1.

Substitutions for Torino included Yann Karamoh, Ricardo Rodriguez, David Zima, Ndary Adopo and Karol Linetty for Pietro Pellegri, Alessandro Buongiorno, Perr Schuurs, Aleksey Miranchuk and Samuele Ricci, respectively. Milan brought on Charles De Ketelaere, Ante Rebic, Sergino Dest, Ismael Bennacer and Olivier Giroud, to replace Brahim Diaz, Rafael Leao, Pierre Kalulu, Sandro Tonali and Junior Messias.

There were bookings for Perr Schuurs, Alessandro Buongiorno, Pietro Pellegri, Karol Linetty and Sasa Lukic from Torino. For Milan, Pierre Kalulu and Tommaso Pobega saw yellow.

Torino will next play Bologna away, with Milan facing Spezia Calcio at home.

Technical card:
Torino:Vanja Milinkovic-Savic, Alessandro Buongiorno (Ricardo Rodriguez, min.73), Koffi Djidji, Perr Schuurs (David Zima, min.76), Wilfried Stephane Singo, Samuele Ricci (Karol Linetty, min.84), Sasa Lukic, Valentino Lazaro, Pietro Pellegri (Yann Karamoh, min.73), Nikola Vlasic and Aleksey Miranchuk (Ndary Adopo, min.84)
AC Milan:Ciprian Tatarusanu, Pierre Kalulu (Sergino Dest, min.46), Fikayo Tomori, Matteo Gabbia, Theo Hernandez, Junior Messias (Olivier Giroud, min.78), Sandro Tonali (Ismael Bennacer, min.70), Tommaso Pobega, Brahim Diaz (Charles De Ketelaere, min.46), Rafael Leao (Ante Rebic, min.46) and Divock Origi
Stadium:the Stadio Olimpico di Torino
Goals:Koffi Djidji (1-0, min. 35), Aleksey Miranchuk (2-0, min. 37) and Junior Messias (2-1, min. 67)