Spezia 2-2 Sassuolo: Entertaining draw at the Stadio Alberto Picco

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Spezia and Sassuolo were held to a 2-2 draw at the Stadio Alberto Picco. Spezia were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 3-0 to Internazionale. Sassuolo were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against Lecce. As the table looks today, both teams are on 4 points and occupy 12th and 11th places respectively after 3 matches.

Neroverdi started the first half well, when Davide Frattesi found the net in the 27th minute. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Simone Bastoni, 30 minutes in, brought Spezia level. Spezia then netted once more and turned the match thanks to a penalty goal from M’bala Nzola just before halftime, concluding the first half 2-1.

Sassuolo started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, with an early goal from Andrea Pinamonti in the 50th minute. The match ended wih a 2-2 draw.

Substitutions for Spezia included Mattia Caldara, Viktor Kovalenko, Albin Ekdal, Daniele Verde and Jacopo Sala for Petko Hristov, David Strelec, Mehdi Bourabia, Kevin Agudelo and Simone Bastoni, repectively. Sassuolo brought on Kristian Thorstvedt, Gregoire Defrel and Emil Konradsen Ceide, to replace Davide Frattesi, Andrea Pinamonti and Giorgos Kyriakopoulos.

The referee booked three players. Albin Ekdal from Spezia, who saw yellow cards and Albin Ekdal (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Sassuolo Gian Marco Ferrari also seeing yellows.

Spezia will play away against Juventus, while Sassuolo will face AC Milan at home.

Technical card:
Spezia Calcio:Bartlomiej Dragowski, Jakub Kiwior, Dimitrios Nikolaou, Petko Hristov (Mattia Caldara, min.46), Emmanuel Gyasi, Simone Bastoni (Jacopo Sala, min.78), Kevin Agudelo (Daniele Verde, min.66), Mehdi Bourabia (Albin Ekdal, min.66), Arkadiusz Reca, M’bala Nzola and David Strelec (Viktor Kovalenko, min.58)
Sassuolo:Andrea Consigli, Jeremy Toljan, Gian Marco Ferrari, Martin Erlic, Rogerio, Davide Frattesi (Kristian Thorstvedt, min.68), Maxime Lopez, Matheus Henrique, Domenico Berardi, Andrea Pinamonti (Gregoire Defrel, min.77) and Giorgos Kyriakopoulos (Emil Konradsen Ceide, min.77)
Stadium:the Stadio Alberto Picco
Goals:Davide Frattesi (0-1, min. 27), Simone Bastoni (1-1, min. 30), M’bala Nzola (2-1, min. 45) and Andrea Pinamonti (2-2, min. 50)