Sassuolo 0-3 AC Milan: Rossoneri crowned Campione D’Italia Winners 2021-22

Sassuolo vs AC Milan
Photo Credit: AP

AC Milan defeat Sassuolo 3-0 on Sunday at the MAPEI Stadium. Both Sassuolo and Milan arrived on the back of wins. Sassuolo were looking to continue their run after winning last match. Milan were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Atalanta and Hellas Verona. This left, Sassuolo are in 11th place on the table and has 50 points while Milan sit in 1st with 86 points after 38 matches.

Rossoneri started the game well, with Olivier Giroud opening the rout in the 17th minute. The momentum was now with Milan, who then scored again through a second effort from Olivier Giroud, 32 minutes in to establish a 2-0. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Franck Kessie, at 36 minutes, finishing the first half 0-3. Both teams unable to deliver anything further, the score remained at 3-0 at full time.

For Sassuolo, Francesco Magnanelli, Hamed Junior Traoré, Gregoire Defrel, Federico Peluso and Giacomo Satalino, came on for Maxime Lopez, Davide Frattesi, Domenico Berardi, Gian Marco Ferrari and Andrea Consigli. Milan brought on Ismael Bennacer, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Brahim Diaz, Alessandro Florenzi and Alessio Romagnoli, to replace Sandro Tonali, Olivier Giroud, Rade Krunic, Alexis Saelemaekers and Fikayo Tomori.

There were bookings for Maxime Lopez and Giorgos Kyriakopoulos from Sassuolo, and Sandro Tonali, for Milan.

Technical card:
Sassuolo:Andrea Consigli (Giacomo Satalino, min.82), Mert Muldur, Kaan Ayhan, Gian Marco Ferrari (Federico Peluso, min.82), Giorgos Kyriakopoulos, Davide Frattesi (Hamed Junior Traoré, min.58), Matheus Henrique, Maxime Lopez (Francesco Magnanelli, min.46), Giacomo Raspadori, Domenico Berardi (Gregoire Defrel, min.68) and Gianluca Scamacca
AC Milan:Mike Maignan, Davide Calabria, Pierre Kalulu, Fikayo Tomori (Alessio Romagnoli, min.81), Theo Hernandez, Alexis Saelemaekers (Alessandro Florenzi, min.81), Sandro Tonali (Ismael Bennacer, min.46), Franck Kessie, Rade Krunic (Brahim Diaz, min.73), Rafael Leao and Olivier Giroud (Zlatan Ibrahimovic, min.72)
Stadium:the MAPEI Stadium
Goals:Olivier Giroud (0-1, min. 17), Olivier Giroud (0-2, min. 32) and Franck Kessie (0-3, min. 36)