Salernitana 1 – Lecce 2: granate suffer home defeat to Giallorossi

Photo Credit: AP

Lecce eased past Salernitana in a 2-1 victory on Friday at Stadio Arechi. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Salernitana arrived with the intention of improving their league position following a 2-2 draw with Juventus in their previous game while Lecce were struggling for form following a draw in their last match. Salernitana and Lecce currently occupy 10th and 13th spots in the table, with 7 points and 6 points respectively after 7 matches.

Giallorossi found the net first, when Assan Ceesay found the net just before half-time, ending the first half 1-0.

granate started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, when Joan Gonzalez found the net, at 55 minutes. In the end though, Lecce took the victory via a Gabriel Strefezza goal, at 83 minutes. The match ended with a 2-1 victory for Lecce.

Substitutions for Salernitana included Grigoris Kastanos, Domagoj Bradaric, Federico Bonazzoli, Erik Botheim and Diego Valencia for Lassana Coulibaly, Norbert Gyomber, Krzysztof Piatek, Boulaye Dia and Antonio Candreva, respectively. Lecce replaced Alexis Blin, Kristijan Bistrovic, Antonino Gallo, Gabriel Strefezza and Remi Oudin with Kristoffer Askildsen, Joan Gonzalez, Giuseppe Pezzella, Federico Di Francesco and Lameck Banda.

There were bookings for Lassana Coulibaly from Salernitana. For Lecce, Federico Di Francesco, Joan Gonzalez and Gabriel Strefezza saw yellow.

Salernitana will play their next fixture away against Sassuolo, while Lecce will face Cremonese at home.

Technical card:
Salernitana:Luigi Sepe, Flavius Daniliuc, Dylan Bronn, Norbert Gyomber (Domagoj Bradaric, min.46), Antonio Candreva (Diego Valencia, min.82), Giulio Maggiore, Lassana Coulibaly (Grigoris Kastanos, min.46), Tonny Vilhena, Pasquale Mazzocchi, Krzysztof Piatek (Federico Bonazzoli, min.67) and Boulaye Dia (Erik Botheim, min.76)
Lecce:Wladimiro Falcone, Valentin Gendrey, Marin Pongracic, Federico Baschirotto, Giuseppe Pezzella (Antonino Gallo, min.74), Joan Gonzalez (Kristijan Bistrovic, min.66), Morten Hjulmand, Kristoffer Askildsen (Alexis Blin, min.66), Federico Di Francesco (Gabriel Strefezza, min.78), Assan Ceesay and Lameck Banda (Remi Oudin, min.78)
Stadium:Stadio Arechi
Goals:Assan Ceesay (0-1, min. 43), Joan Gonzalez (1-1, min. 55) and Gabriel Strefezza (1-2, min. 83)