Salernitana 2 – Verona 1: Visitors to Stadio Arechi leave with nothing

Photo Credit: AP

Salernitana beat Hellas Verona with a 2-1 victory on Sunday at Stadio Arechi. Both sides came from defeats in their previous league games. Salernitana arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 5-0 to Sassuolo, while Verona were beaten 2-1 in their previous match against Udinese. Salernitana and Verona are 16th, (7 points) and 18th, (5 points), in the league respectively, after 9 matches.

It was an impressive opening from granate, when Krzysztof Piatek gave them the lead, 18 minutes in to see them go in at half time 1-0 up.

Verona took the initiative in the second half, when Fabio Depaoli found the net, at 56 minutes. Salernitana in turn, then responded just before the final whistle, grabbing the lead with an effort from Boulaye Dia, seing the match finish 2-1.

Substitutions for Salernitana included Tonny Vilhena, Erik Botheim, Boulaye Dia, Dylan Bronn and Junior Sambia for Giulio Maggiore, Federico Bonazzoli, Krzysztof Piatek, Norbert Gyomber and Antonio Candreva, respectively. Verona replaced Thomas Henry, Miguel Veloso, Ajdin Hrustic, Federico Ceccherini and Fabio Depaoli for Milan Djuric, Sulemana, Yayah Kallon, Juan Cabal and Davide Faraoni.

The referee booked from Salernitana Krzysztof Piatek, Junior Sambia and Flavius Daniliuc and from Verona Isak Hien, Fabio Depaoli and Sulemana. Both teams also had a sending off, with Ivan Radovanovic for Salernitana and Federico Ceccherini for Verona.

Salernitana will next travel to Internazionale, while Verona will face AC Milan at home.

Technical card:
Salernitana:Luigi Sepe, Flavius Daniliuc, Matteo Lovato, Norbert Gyomber (Dylan Bronn, min.90), Antonio Candreva (Junior Sambia, min.90), Giulio Maggiore (Tonny Vilhena, min.9), Ivan Radovanovic, Lassana Coulibaly, Pasquale Mazzocchi, Federico Bonazzoli (Erik Botheim, min.59) and Krzysztof Piatek (Boulaye Dia, min.59)
Hellas Verona:Lorenzo Montipo, Federico Ceccherini (Juan Cabal, min.86), Koray Gunter, Isak Hien, Fabio Depaoli (Davide Faraoni, min.86), Miguel Veloso (Sulemana, min.71), Adrien Tameze, Josh Doig, Ajdin Hrustic (Yayah Kallon, min.71), Simone Verdi and Thomas Henry (Milan Djuric, min.46)
Stadium:Stadio Arechi
Goals:Krzysztof Piatek (1-0, min. 18), Fabio Depaoli (1-1, min. 56) and Boulaye Dia (2-1, min. 90)