Napoli 3-1 Torino: Gli Azzurri impress again to remain top

Napoli vs Torino
Photo Credit: AP

Napoli defeated Torino 3-1 on Saturday at Stadio Diego Armando Maradona. Napoli were keen to hang onto their position at the top of the table and extend their winning run after winning their previous two games against AC Milan away and Spezia Calcio at home, by 2-1 and 1-0 respectively while Torino were beaten 1-0 in their previous match against Sassuolo. Napoli and Torino sit 1st, (20 points) and 9th, (10 points), in the league respectively, after 8 matches.

Gli Azzurri started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Andre Zambo Anguissa gave them the lead early in the first half. The momentum was again with Napoli, who then scored again courtesy of a second effort from Andre Zambo Anguissa in the 12th minute to establish a 2-0 result. The momentum was again with Napoli, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Khvicha Kvaratskhelia on the 37 minute mark to establish a 3-0 result. The Bull in turn, then responded just before half-time, grabbing the lead with an effort from Antonio Sanabria, ending the first half 3-1. The second half ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

Substitutions for Napoli included Giovanni Simeone, Tanguy Ndombele, Hirving Lozano, Eljif Elmas and Mathias Olivera for Giacomo Raspadori, Piotr Zielinski, Matteo Politano, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia and Mario Rui, respectively. Torino brought on Nemanja Radonjic, Ndary Adopo, Ola Aina, Perr Schuurs and Yann Karamoh, to replace Aleksey Miranchuk, Valentino Lazaro, Karol Linetty, Ricardo Rodriguez and Wilfried Stephane Singo.

The referee booked two players from Torino, Wilfried Stephane Singo and Sasa Lukic.

Napoli will next travel to Cremonese, while Torino will face Empoli at home.

Technical card:
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Amir Rrahmani, Min-jae Kim, Mario Rui (Mathias Olivera, min.81), Piotr Zielinski (Tanguy Ndombele, min.63), Andre Zambo Anguissa, Stanislav Lobotka, Giacomo Raspadori (Giovanni Simeone, min.62), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Eljif Elmas, min.81) and Matteo Politano (Hirving Lozano, min.68)
Torino:Vanja Milinkovic-Savic, Alessandro Buongiorno, Koffi Djidji, Ricardo Rodriguez (Perr Schuurs, min.85), Wilfried Stephane Singo (Yann Karamoh, min.85), Sasa Lukic, Karol Linetty (Ola Aina, min.74), Valentino Lazaro (Ndary Adopo, min.74), Antonio Sanabria, Aleksey Miranchuk (Nemanja Radonjic, min.68) and Nikola Vlasic
Stadium:Stadio Diego Armando Maradona
Goals:Andre Zambo Anguissa (1-0, min. 6), Andre Zambo Anguissa (2-0, min. 12), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (3-0, min. 37) and Antonio Sanabria (3-1, min. 44)