Napoli 4-0 Sassuolo: Gli Azzurri win big with Victor Osimhen hattrick

Photo Credit: AP

Napoli defeated Sassuolo 4-0 on Saturday at Stadio Diego Armando Maradona. Both Napoli and Sassuolo arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Napoli were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games against Roma away and Bologna at home, by 1-0 and 3-2 respectively. Sassuolo were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Hellas Verona in their last match. Napoli are now in 1st place, with 32 points from 12 matches, while Sassuolo sit in 9th, with 15 points from 12.

Napoli started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with an early goal from Victor Osimhen in the 4th minute. The momentum was again with Gli Azzurri, who then scored again courtesy of a effort from Victor Osimhen on the 19 minute mark to establish a 2-0 result. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, 36 minutes in, concluding the first half 3-0.

Napoli once more applied the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, when Victor Osimhen found the net once more, 77 minutes in, leaving the final score at 4-0.

Substitutions for Napoli included Tanguy Ndombele, Eljif Elmas, Giacomo Raspadori, Diego Demme and Alessandro Zanoli for Andre Zambo Anguissa, Piotr Zielinski, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Stanislav Lobotka and Giovanni Di Lorenzo, respectively. Sassuolo replaced Hamed Junior Traoré, Agustin Alvarez Martinez, Matheus Henrique, Pedro Obiang and Abdou Harroui with Emil Konradsen Ceide, Andrea Pinamonti, Kristian Thorstvedt, Maxime Lopez and Davide Frattesi.

Sassuolo and Napoli will next play away to Empoli and Atalanta respectively.

Technical card:
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Alessandro Zanoli, min.79), Min-jae Kim, Juan Jesus, Mario Rui, Piotr Zielinski (Eljif Elmas, min.56), Stanislav Lobotka (Diego Demme, min.79), Andre Zambo Anguissa (Tanguy Ndombele, min.56), Hirving Lozano, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Giacomo Raspadori, min.71) and Victor Osimhen
Sassuolo:Andrea Consigli, Jeremy Toljan, Gian Marco Ferrari, Martin Erlic, Rogerio, Kristian Thorstvedt (Matheus Henrique, min.65), Maxime Lopez (Pedro Obiang, min.80), Davide Frattesi (Abdou Harroui, min.86), Armand Lauriente, Emil Konradsen Ceide (Hamed Junior Traoré, min.46) and Andrea Pinamonti (Agustin Alvarez Martinez, min.64)
Stadium:Stadio Diego Armando Maradona
Goals:Victor Osimhen (1-0, min. 4), Victor Osimhen (2-0, min. 19), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (3-0, min. 36) and Victor Osimhen (4-0, min. 77)