Napoli 1-1 Lecce: Giallorossi drop points at home

Photo Credit: AP

Napoli were held to a 1-1 draw by Lecce on Wednesday at Stadio Diego Armando Maradona. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Napoli were aiming to improve their league standing following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Fiorentina in their previous game. Lecce had managed to pick up a point in their matchup with Empoli. Napoli are 3rd with 8 points from 4 matches, while Lecce sit in 15th, with 2 points from 4.

Napoli started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Eljif Elmas gave them the lead on the 27 minute mark. However, their lead was short-lived, as Lorenzo Colombo equalised for Lecce, 31 minutes in, finishing the first half 1-1. Both teams struggled to produce anything meaningful in the second half, leaving the final score at 1-1.

Substitutions for Napoli included Piotr Zielinski, Stanislav Lobotka, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Hirving Lozano and Giovanni Simeone for Giacomo Raspadori, Tanguy Ndombele, Eljif Elmas, Matteo Politano and Andre Zambo Anguissa, respectively. Lecce brought on Joan Gonzalez, Gabriel Strefezza, Alexis Blin, Assan Ceesay and Marcin Listkowski for Thorir Johann Helgason, Federico Di Francesco, Kristoffer Askildsen, Lorenzo Colombo and Lameck Banda.

There were bookings for Matteo Politano from Napoli. For Lecce, Morten Hjulmand, Lorenzo Colombo, Joan Gonzalez and Valentin Gendrey saw yellow.

Next up, Napoli are away to Lazio, whilst Lecce will travel to face Torino.

Technical card:
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Min-jae Kim, Leo Ostigard, Mathias Olivera, Matteo Politano (Hirving Lozano, min.71), Andre Zambo Anguissa (Giovanni Simeone, min.85), Tanguy Ndombele (Stanislav Lobotka, min.46), Eljif Elmas (Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, min.56), Giacomo Raspadori (Piotr Zielinski, min.46) and Victor Osimhen
Lecce:Wladimiro Falcone, Valentin Gendrey, Giuseppe Pezzella, Federico Baschirotto, Alessandro Tuia, Kristoffer Askildsen (Alexis Blin, min.62), Thorir Johann Helgason (Joan Gonzalez, min.46), Morten Hjulmand, Federico Di Francesco (Gabriel Strefezza, min.62), Lorenzo Colombo (Assan Ceesay, min.70) and Lameck Banda (Marcin Listkowski, min.75)
Stadium:Stadio Diego Armando Maradona
Goals:Eljif Elmas (1-0, min. 27) and Lorenzo Colombo (1-1, min. 31)