Lecce 2 – Atalanta 1: Giallorossi seal precious win at Via Del Mare

Photo Credit: AP

Lecce strolled past Atalanta with a 2-1 win on Wednesday at Via Del Mare. Lecce were on the hunt for more points after a 1-1 draw against Udinese. Atalanta had lost their previous match against Napoli. Lecce and Atalanta are 16th, (12 points) and 4th, (27 points), in the table respectively, after 14 matches.

Lecce started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Federico Baschirotto found the net, at 28 minutes. The momentum was again with Giallorossi, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Federico Di Francesco, 30 minutes in to establish a 2-0 result. However, The Goddess pull-back via a Duvan Zapata goal just before half-time, which saw the first half end 2-1. With both teams struggling to produce anything meaningful in the second half though, the match ended 2-1.

Substitutions for Lecce included Lameck Banda, Remi Oudin, Kristijan Bistrovic, Assan Ceesay and Samuel Umtiti for Federico Di Francesco, Gabriel Strefezza, Alexis Blin, Lorenzo Colombo and Valentin Gendrey, respectively. Atalanta brought on Teun Koopmeiners, Joakim Maehle, Ademola Lookman, Rasmus Hojlund and Jeremie Boga, to replace Marten De Roon, Brandon Soppy, Mario Pasalic, Ruslan Malinovskyi and Nadir Zortea.

There were bookings for Marin Pongracic from Lecce. For Atalanta, Matteo Ruggeri and Teun Koopmeiners saw yellow.

Lecce will next play Sampdoria away, with Atalanta facing Internazionale at home.

Technical card:
Lecce:Wladimiro Falcone, Valentin Gendrey (Samuel Umtiti, min.83), Marin Pongracic, Federico Baschirotto, Antonino Gallo, Morten Hjulmand, Joan Gonzalez, Alexis Blin (Kristijan Bistrovic, min.72), Gabriel Strefezza (Remi Oudin, min.63), Federico Di Francesco (Lameck Banda, min.63) and Lorenzo Colombo (Assan Ceesay, min.72)
Atalanta:Marco Sportiello, Berat Djimsiti, Matteo Ruggeri, Caleb Okoli, Brandon Soppy (Joakim Maehle, min.46), Marten De Roon (Teun Koopmeiners, min.46), Mario Pasalic (Ademola Lookman, min.69), Nadir Zortea (Jeremie Boga, min.80), Ederson, Ruslan Malinovskyi (Rasmus Hojlund, min.80) and Duvan Zapata
Stadium:Via Del Mare
Goals:Federico Baschirotto (1-0, min. 28), Federico Di Francesco (2-0, min. 30) and Duvan Zapata (2-1, min. 40)