Lazio 1-2 Napoli: Gli Azzurri assert dominance with excellent away win

Lazio vs Napoli
Photo Credit: AP

Napoli eased past Lazio in a 2-1 victory on Saturday at the Stadio Olympico. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Lazio were looking for a victory following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Sampdoria in their previous game. Napoli had secured a point against Lecce in their previous match. Lazio are now in 7th place on the table and have 8 points while Napoli sit in 1st with 11 points after 5 matches.

The White and Sky Blues dominated the first half, with an early goal from Mattia Zaccagni in the 4th minute. However, their lead was short-lived, as Min-jae Kim equalised for Gli Azzurri on the 38 minute mark, which saw the first half end 1-1.

Napoli continued to apply pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Khvicha Kvaratskhelia in the 61st minute. When the final whistle blew, the result was 2-1 to Napoli.

Substitutions for Lazio included Matias Vecino, Pedro, Toma Basic, Elseid Hysaj and Matteo Cancellieri for Luis Alberto, Mattia Zaccagni, Danilo Cataldi, Manuel Lazzari and Felipe Anderson, respectively. Napoli brought on Matteo Politano, Eljif Elmas, Giacomo Raspadori, Tanguy Ndombele and Mathias Olivera, to replace Hirving Lozano, Piotr Zielinski, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Stanislav Lobotka and Mario Rui.

The referee booked Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, Danilo Cataldi, Felipe Anderson and Adam Marusic for Lazio.

Napoli and Lazio will next play at home to Spezia Calcio and Hellas Verona respectively.

Technical card:
Lazio:Ivan Provedel, Manuel Lazzari (Elseid Hysaj, min.84), Alessio Romagnoli, Patric, Adam Marusic, Luis Alberto (Matias Vecino, min.54), Sergej Milinkovic-Savic, Danilo Cataldi (Toma Basic, min.75), Ciro Immobile, Mattia Zaccagni (Pedro, min.54) and Felipe Anderson (Matteo Cancellieri, min.84)
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Min-jae Kim, Amir Rrahmani, Mario Rui (Mathias Olivera, min.90), Hirving Lozano (Matteo Politano, min.45), Piotr Zielinski (Eljif Elmas, min.68), Stanislav Lobotka (Tanguy Ndombele, min.90), Andre Zambo Anguissa, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Giacomo Raspadori, min.68) and Victor Osimhen
Stadium:the Stadio Olympico
Goals:Mattia Zaccagni (1-0, min. 4), Min-jae Kim (1-1, min. 38) and Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (1-2, min. 61)