Inter 3-0 Sampdoria: Nerazzurri net 3 but surrender league title to AC Milan

Photo Credit: AP

Internazionale beats Sampdoria 3-0 on Sunday at the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza. Both sides arrived on the back of wins. Inter were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two matches in the competition. The most recent was against the Cagliari away (3-1), the other to Empoli at home (4-2). Sampdoria, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 4-1 victory against Fiorentina. Following the final whistle at the end of the last game of the Serie A season, Inter are in 2nd place on the table and has 84 points while Sampdoria sit in 15th with 36 points after 38 matches.

After an un-eventful first half, Whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Nerazzurri who started the second half well, with an early goal from Ivan Perisic in the 49th minute. Inter looked to have the game under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Joaquin Correa in the 55th minute to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Joaquin Correa made it 3-0, 57 minutes in to make it 3-0.

For Inter, Arturo Vidal, Robin Gosens, Federico Dimarco, Andrea Ranocchia and Felipe Caicedo, came on for Nicolo Barella, Ivan Perisic, Alessandro Bastoni, Stefan De Vrij and Joaquin Correa. Sampdoria replaced Antonio Candreva, Morten Thorsby, Ronaldo Vieira, Maya Yoshida and Tomas Rincon for Mikkel Damsgaard, Simone Trimboli, Kristoffer Askildsen, Giangiacomo Magnani and Gerard Yepes.

There were bookings for Nicolo Barella from Inter. For Sampdoria, Maya Yoshida and Alex Ferrari saw yellow.

Technical card:
Internazionale:Samir Handanovic, Stefan De Vrij (Andrea Ranocchia, min.73), Milan Skriniar, Alessandro Bastoni (Federico Dimarco, min.60), Denzel Dumfries, Hakan Calhanoglu, Nicolo Barella (Arturo Vidal, min.59), Marcelo Brozovic, Ivan Perisic (Robin Gosens, min.59), Joaquin Correa (Felipe Caicedo, min.73) and Lautaro Martinez
Sampdoria:Emil Audero, Bartosz Bereszynski, Alex Ferrari, Maya Yoshida (Giangiacomo Magnani, min.78), Tommaso Augello, Antonio Candreva (Mikkel Damsgaard, min.62), Tomas Rincon (Gerard Yepes, min.84), Ronaldo Vieira (Kristoffer Askildsen, min.78), Morten Thorsby (Simone Trimboli, min.63), Abdelhamid Sabiri and Francesco Caputo
Stadium:the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza
Goals:Ivan Perisic (1-0, min. 49), Joaquin Correa (2-0, min. 55) and Joaquin Correa (3-0, min. 57)