Empoli 1-3 Milan: Rossoneri back on track with away win at Carlo Castellani

Empoli vs AC Milan
Photo Credit: AP

Empoli on home loss to AC Milan at Carlo Castellani on Saturday. Empoli were keen to hang onto their position at the top of the table and extend their winning run, following a 1-0 victory against Bologna whilst Milan had lost their previous match against Napoli. Empoli and Milan currently occupy 14th and 6th spots in the league, with 7 points and 14 points respectively after 8 matches.

After a goalless first half, Rossoneri continued to apply pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Ante Rebic gave them the lead on the 79 minute mark. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Nedim Bajrami managing to equalize, 90 minutes in 1-1. However, each side looked hungry to win and Milan then found the back of the net, at 90 minutes thanks to Fode Toure, taking the score to 2-1. Milan then scored once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Rafael Leao just before the full time to give a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Empoli included Razvan Marin, Filippo Bandinelli, Nedim Bajrami, Mattia Destro and Nicolo Cambiaghi for Alberto Grassi, Marko Pjaca, Liam Henderson, Martin Satriano and Nicolas Haas, respectively. Milan brought on Rade Krunic, Pierre Kalulu, Ante Rebic, Sergino Dest and Brahim Diaz, to replace Alexis Saelemaekers, Davide Calabria, Olivier Giroud, Simon Kjaer and Charles De Ketelaere.

There were bookings for Nicolas Haas, Koni De Winter and Sebastiano Luperto from Empoli. For Milan, Simon Kjaer and Ismael Bennacer saw yellow.

Empoli will next travel to Torino, while Milan will face Juventus at home.

Technical card:
Empoli:Guglielmo Vicario, Petar Stojanovic, Koni De Winter, Sebastiano Luperto, Fabiano Parisi, Nicolas Haas (Nicolo Cambiaghi, min.83), Marko Pjaca (Filippo Bandinelli, min.58), Alberto Grassi (Razvan Marin, min.45), Liam Henderson (Nedim Bajrami, min.58), Martin Satriano (Mattia Destro, min.83) and Sam Lammers
AC Milan:Ciprian Tatarusanu, Davide Calabria (Pierre Kalulu, min.39), Fikayo Tomori, Simon Kjaer (Sergino Dest, min.73), Fode Toure, Alexis Saelemaekers (Rade Krunic, min.33), Sandro Tonali, Charles De Ketelaere (Brahim Diaz, min.73), Ismael Bennacer, Rafael Leao and Olivier Giroud (Ante Rebic, min.73)
Stadium:Carlo Castellani
Goals:Ante Rebic (0-1, min. 79), Nedim Bajrami (1-1, min. 90), Fode Toure (1-2, min. 90) and Rafael Leao (1-3, min. 90)