Bologna 2-1 Fiorentina: The Greyhounds pick up their first win of the season

Photo Credit: AP

Bologna strolled past Fiorentina with a 2-1 win on Sunday at the Stadio Renato Dall’Ara. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were each keen to pick up points. Bologna were aiming to improve their league standing following a disappointing 2-2 draw with Spezia Calcio in their previous game. Fiorentina had managed to pick up a point in their matchup with Juventus. both teams are now on 6 points and occupy 12th and 11th places respectively after 6 matches.

After an uneventful first half, The Purple One certainly were out of the blocks quickly in the second half, when Lucas Martinez gave them the lead in the 54th minute. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Musa Barrow, at 59 minutes brought The Greyhounds level. Bologna then netted again and turned the match thanks to a goal from Marko Arnautovic on the 62 minute mark to make it 2-1.

Substitutions for Bologna included Babis Lykogiannis, Riccardo Orsolini, Lorenzo De Silvestri and Kevin Bonifazi for Andrea Cambiaso, Marko Arnautovic, Denso Kasius and Gary Medel, respectively. Fiorentina replaced Dodo, Riccardo Sottil, Antonin Barak, Christian Kouame and Sofyan Amrabat for Lorenzo Venuti, Riccardo Saponara, Jonathan Ikone, Arthur Cabral and Rolando Mandragora.

The referee booked Babis Lykogiannis from Bologna. Fiorentina had the worst of it though, with Christian Kouame, Sofyan Amrabat and Igor seeing yellow, and Igor (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Fiorentina and Bologna will next play at home to Hellas Verona and Empoli respectively.

Technical card:
Bologna:Lukasz Skorupski, Stefan Posch, Jhon Lucumi, Gary Medel (Kevin Bonifazi, min.79), Denso Kasius (Lorenzo De Silvestri, min.79), Michel Aebischer, Jerdy Schouten, Andrea Cambiaso (Babis Lykogiannis, min.61), Musa Barrow, Roberto Soriano and Marko Arnautovic (Riccardo Orsolini, min.70)
Fiorentina:Pietro Terracciano, Dodo (Lorenzo Venuti, min.45), Igor, Lucas Martinez, Giacomo Bonaventura, Sofyan Amrabat (Rolando Mandragora, min.85), Antonin Barak (Jonathan Ikone, min.70), Christian Kouame (Arthur Cabral, min.85), Luka Jovic, Riccardo Sottil (Riccardo Saponara, min.46) and Cristiano Biraghi
Stadium:the Stadio Renato Dall’Ara
Goals:Lucas Martinez (0-1, min. 54), Musa Barrow (1-1, min. 59) and Marko Arnautovic (2-1, min. 62)