Atalanta 1-1Milan: Champions held in entertaining draw at Atalanta

Photo Credit: AP

Atalanta were held to 1-1 draw by Milan down on Sunday at the Gewiss Stadium. Both Atalanta and Milan arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Atalanta were looking to pick up points, following a 2-0 victory against Sampdoria. Milan, on the other hand, were looking to extend their winning run after a 4-2 victory against Udinese. As the table looks today, both teams are on 4 points and occupy 4th and 3rd places respectively after 2 matches.

Atalanta started strongly in the first half, with a goal from Ruslan Malinovskyi in the 29th minute. They then managed to see out the first half 1-0.

Milan took the lead in the second half, when Ismael Bennacer found the net, at 68 minutes. The match ended wih a 1-1 draw.

Substitutions for Atalanta included Luis Muriel, Giorgio Scalvini, Ademola Lookman, Caleb Okoli and Nadir Zortea for Duvan Zapata, Mario Pasalic, Ruslan Malinovskyi, Berat Djimsiti and Joakim Maehle, repectively. Milan brought on Charles De Ketelaere, Olivier Giroud, Alexis Saelemaekers, Divock Origi and Alessandro Florenzi, to replace Brahim Diaz, Ante Rebic, Junior Messias, Rafael Leao and Davide Calabria.

There were bookings for Rafael Toloi, Hans Hateboer, Berat Djimsiti and Marten De Roon from Atalanta, and Ante Rebic, Sandro Tonali and Theo Hernandez, for Milan.

Atalanta will next play Hellas Verona away, with Milan facing Bologna at home.

Technical card:
Atalanta:Juan Musso, Berat Djimsiti (Caleb Okoli, min.82), Rafael Toloi, Merih Demiral, Hans Hateboer, Teun Koopmeiners, Marten De Roon, Joakim Maehle (Nadir Zortea, min.89), Ruslan Malinovskyi (Ademola Lookman, min.73), Mario Pasalic (Giorgio Scalvini, min.73) and Duvan Zapata (Luis Muriel, min.73)
AC Milan:Mike Maignan, Davide Calabria (Alessandro Florenzi, min.84), Pierre Kalulu, Fikayo Tomori, Theo Hernandez, Junior Messias (Alexis Saelemaekers, min.66), Brahim Diaz (Charles De Ketelaere, min.58), Sandro Tonali, Ismael Bennacer, Rafael Leao (Divock Origi, min.66) and Ante Rebic (Olivier Giroud, min.58)
Stadium:the Gewiss Stadium
Goals:Ruslan Malinovskyi (1-0, min. 29) and Ismael Bennacer (1-1, min. 68)