Milan 4-2 Udinese: Rossoneri open title defence with a win

ac milan vs udinese
Photo Credit: AP

Udinese open Serie A season with a defeat against AC Milan. Today’s result, leave both teams on 0 points and occupying 2nd and 16th positions respectively, after their first match.

Bianconeri started strongly in the first half, with an early goal from Rodrigo Becao in the 2nd minute. However, their lead didn’t last for long, Theo Hernandez producing an equaliser at the 11 minute mark, bringing Rossoneri level. The momentum was now with Milan, who then scored again through a goal from Ante Rebic at the 15 minute mark to establish a 2-1. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Adam Masina in the 45th minute brought Udinese level. However, Milan just before halftime found the back of the net via a Brahim Diaz goal, to take a 3-2 lead into half time.

Milan continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Ante Rebic found the net again, at 68 minutes, leaving the final score at 4-2.

Substitutions for Milan included Alexis Saelemaekers, Charles De Ketelaere, Olivier Giroud, Divock Origi and Tommaso Pobega for Junior Messias, Brahim Diaz, Ante Rebic, Rafael Leao and Rade Krunic, repectively. Udinese brought on Beto, Enzo Ebosse, Lazar Samardzic, Sandi Lovric and Festy Ebosele, to replace Isaac Success, Nehuen Perez, Jean-Victor Makengo, Walace and Adam Masina.

There were bookings for Rade Krunic from Milan. For Udinese, Brandon Soppy, Rodrigo Becao, Nehuen Perez and Festy Ebosele saw yellow.

In the second round of action in the Serie A Milan will travel to play Atalanta and Udinese will play Salernitana at home.

Technical card:
AC Milan:Mike Maignan, Davide Calabria, Pierre Kalulu, Fikayo Tomori, Theo Hernandez, Rafael Leao (Divock Origi, min.84), Ismael Bennacer, Brahim Diaz (Charles De Ketelaere, min.71), Rade Krunic (Tommaso Pobega, min.84), Junior Messias (Alexis Saelemaekers, min.71) and Ante Rebic (Olivier Giroud, min.72)
Udinese:Marco Silvestri, Rodrigo Becao, Bram Nuytinck, Nehuen Perez (Enzo Ebosse, min.67), Brandon Soppy, Jean-Victor Makengo (Lazar Samardzic, min.76), Roberto Pereyra, Walace (Sandi Lovric, min.76), Adam Masina (Festy Ebosele, min.83), Gerard Deulofeu and Isaac Success (Beto, min.67)
Stadium:the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza
Goals:Rodrigo Becao (0-1, min. 2), Theo Hernandez (1-1, min. 11), Ante Rebic (2-1, min. 15), Adam Masina (2-2, min. 45), Brahim Diaz (3-2, min. 46) and Ante Rebic (4-2, min. 68)