AC Milan 1-2 Napoli 2: Gli Azzurri stun reigning champions at the San Siro

AC Milan vs Napoli
Photo Credit: AP

Napoli beated AC Milan 2-1 on Sunday at the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza. Both Milan and Napoli arrived on the back of wins. Milan were looking to continue their good run after winning their previous two matches against Sampdoria away and Internazionale at home, by 2-1 and 3-2 respectively while Napoli were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Spezia Calcio and Lazio. Milan and Napoli sit 5th, (14 points) and 1st, (17 points), in the league respectively, after 7 matches.

After an uneventful first half, whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Gli Azzurri who started the second half strongly, when Matteo Politano gave them the lead in the 55th minute. However, their lead was short-lived, as an equalizer from Olivier Giroud, 69 minutes in, brought Milan level. In the end though, Napoli took the victory via a Giovanni Simeone goal, at 78 minutes. The match ended with a 2-1 victory for Napoli.

Substitutions for Milan included Pierre Kalulu, Sergino Dest, Brahim Diaz, Junior Messias and Yacine Adli for Simon Kjaer, Davide Calabria, Rade Krunic, Alexis Saelemaekers and Charles De Ketelaere, respectively. Napoli brought on Alessio Zerbin, Giovanni Simeone, Tanguy Ndombele, Eljif Elmas and Mathias Olivera, to replace Matteo Politano, Giacomo Raspadori, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Piotr Zielinski and Mario Rui.

There were bookings for Simon Kjaer, Davide Calabria, Rade Krunic and Fikayo Tomori from Milan, and Amir Rrahmani, Giovanni Simeone and Alessio Zerbin, for Napoli.

Milan will next travel to Empoli, while Napoli will face Torino at home.

Technical card:
AC Milan:Mike Maignan, Davide Calabria (Sergino Dest, min.46), Simon Kjaer (Pierre Kalulu, min.46), Fikayo Tomori, Theo Hernandez, Alexis Saelemaekers (Junior Messias, min.66), Rade Krunic (Brahim Diaz, min.66), Sandro Tonali, Ismael Bennacer, Charles De Ketelaere (Yacine Adli, min.82) and Olivier Giroud
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Amir Rrahmani, Min-jae Kim, Mario Rui (Mathias Olivera, min.90), Matteo Politano (Alessio Zerbin, min.66), Andre Zambo Anguissa, Stanislav Lobotka, Piotr Zielinski (Eljif Elmas, min.87), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Tanguy Ndombele, min.87) and Giacomo Raspadori (Giovanni Simeone, min.67)
Stadium:the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza
Goals:Matteo Politano (0-1, min. 55), Olivier Giroud (1-1, min. 69) and Giovanni Simeone (1-2, min. 78)